“Ice Cream Girl” By Blonder

"Ice Cream Girl" by Blonder is Northern Transmissions Song of the Day
"Ice Cream Girl" by Blonder is Northern Transmissions Song of the Day

Blonder has shared his new single, “Ice Cream Girl.” The track is off his debut LP, Knoxville House, available February 11th via Cool World Records.

Blonder is the project of Long Island native Constantine Anastasakis. The New Yorker set about teaching himself guitar and Logic only after college, and started churning out songs while recovering from a subsequent bicycle accident. Working with production help from Aaron Maine (Porches), Waylon Rector (Phoebe Bridgers, A.G. Cook) and Loren Humphrey (Arctic Monkeys, Lana Del Rey, Florence + the Machine) among others, he released the singles “Lean,” “In and Out” and “BB Song.”

Blonder’s Knoxville House LP, was recorded in East Nashville in October of 2020 over the course of 3 weeks, with engineering by John MacCallum (VHS Collection, Matt Shultz), and co-production by Maxwell Drummey (Lauryn Hill, Steve Albini), ‘Knoxville House’ is filled with literal, matter of fact lyrical descriptions (“Sometimes I want some coffee, sometimes I can’t get up”) and messy obtuse generalities (“My lady said it’s more than you, I knew, I knew you would”) that serve as poetic lifelines sitting comfortably in the jangly metallic sound of grunge – and always set against the southern, slow, gothic architecture, low storied strip malls, highways, trucks, open spaces and syrupy heat of Tennessee.

Tour Dates

11/10 – Brooklyn, NY – Elsewhere Zone One

Knoxville House
Cool World Records
Track List

1. Ice Cream Girl
2. Teeth
3. Heavy
4. Need Again
5. Reboot
6. Junk (Interlude)
7. Mama
8. Paradigm
9. Marfa Store
10. D.CT. (Secret Track)