Alpine share new single “Come On”

Alpine share their new single "Come On," from their forthcoming release 'Yuck,'

“Come On,” the opening track from Alpine’s new record Yuck, is premiering today. Yuck is set for release June 16 via Votiv Music.
Yuck is Alpine’s follow up to their debut, A Is For Alpine.

Lyrically, the new album sees the band explore their yuck reactions to “first world problems”—awkward dates, a distaste for romance, lust when lust was lost, plastic vanity, foolish attraction and ego against egos. While musically, inspiration came from the desire to push the “pop” genre to new and often weird places, Christian O’Brien (guitarist and co-producer of the album) notes, “Most of the music of the songs came from a textural or harmonic idea that I was curious about. I wanted to see if certain things would work in a pop song.”

Of the band’s collective and songwriting process O’Brien further explains, “We took our time. We grew with the album and it developed organically into the collection of songs that we’re so completely in love with.”

Yuck was recorded in Melbourne at MOOF studios. The band joined forces with A Is for Alpine producer and collaborator Dann Hume, who produced the record alongside O’Brien. Of working with Hume a second time around, Lou James (vocals) explains, “he’s practically a brother from another mother. We already formed a solid foundation with him. He knew how we individually wrote in the studio and I could tell he made sure he got the best out of each of us.”
Alpine is Phoebe Baker and Lou James (dual vocals), Christian O’Brien (guitar), Ryan Lamb (bass), Tim Royall (keys) and Phil Tucker (drums).

1. Come On
2. Foolish
3. Crunches
4. Shot Fox
5. Up For Air
6. Jellyfish
7. Much More
8. Damn Baby
9. Standing Not Sleeping
10. Need Not Be


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.