Upchuck Debut Video For “Freedoom”

Upchuck Debut Video For “Freedoom.” The track is off the Atlanta band's forthcoming album Bite The Hand That Feeds
Upchuck Photo By Cory Jones

Upchuck have released new single, “Freedoom”. The track races with flashing depictions of sprawling street protests, bodies ducking in and out of cover under the glare of police sirens. The band will be back on the road, with frequent collaborator and friend, Faye Webster, supporting her at NYC’s Brooklyn Steele, two nights at D.C.’s 9:30 Club, Philadelphia, Boston and more including a hometown album release party at Aisle 5.

Frontwoman Kaila Thompson (KT) recalls, “Trump was up for re-election, COVID had just started, they had just killed Rashard Brooks at the Wendy’s on the south side. And then they started bringing in tanks, which is just crazy to even say – there were tanks in downtown Atlanta. They were driving up kids after curfew, extended school buses full of swat teams, hanging out the windows with rubber-bullet-guns just pointing them out at us and laughing. From there they started gassing their own people, who really just wanted justice, and who were tired and fed up.”

“‘Freedoom’ is those nights of sneaking around the city trying to make the perfect turn so that you don’t get trapped or grabbed up by whoever is around the corner. It’s about late night meetings in undisclosed places, of what to do next, and an overall feeling – it’s being free but also dealing with hell.”

Formed in 2018 through shared connections in their teeming skate scene, Upchuck’s musical aspirations have always been uncomplicated. They play for each other, and for anyone who is willing to move alongside them—there are no trappings of genre worship or social politicking in their sound, only an open spirit of friendly connection. 2022 saw the release of their first LP, Sense Yourself (Famous Class), which landed them tours alongside Amyl and the Sniffers, Negative Approach, OFF! and others.

For their follow up, Upchuck absconded to SoCal to record Bite the Hand That Feeds, enlisting the production talents of Ty Segall. Upchuck credits Segall, who recorded the entire record live to tape over the span of five days, with helping to elevate the arrangements of their second record to bold new heights. The album’s razor tight focus was forged in the fire of Upchuck’s live shows, speaking directly to the power of their in-person presence—these are songs meant to be heard pressed up against a barricade, blasted through dimed guitar amps placed so close to your ears that you can practically reach out and touch them. Live footage of Upchuck’s set is an undeniable spectacle within itself: before a single note is hit, oceans of teenage degenerates, punks, hoodie laden indie kids, and sneaker clad skaters. Upchuck places heavy emphasis upon the special quality of these shared moments with the crowd, often putting on their own shows in repurposed locations.

Speaking on the importance of live performance to the band’s overall outlook, KT does not mince words: “With all of the shit life throws at you every day, sometimes I just need to release something—I need to feel freaky, to lean into my wild alter-ego. That’s what we want to give other people too—we wanna create a space for people to come and work out whatever has been dragging them down, but together, all at once.”

Bite the Hand That Feeds
Track Listing

01 – Freaky
02 – Hush Toy
03 – Shaken
04 – Reaper
05 – Crashing
06 – Freedoom
07 – Toothless
08 – Hierba Mala
09 – NYAG
10 – Scrugg
11 – Long Gone
12 – Crossfire
13 – It Comes

Pre-Order Bite the Hand That Feeds by Upchuck HERE


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.