“Tongues” By Tanya Tagaq

Ikaluktutiak, Cambridge Bay, Nunavut, international multi-artist Tanya Tagaq is an improvisational singer, avant-garde composer and bestselling author. A member of the Order of Canada, Polaris Music Prize and JUNO Award winner, and recipient of multiple honorary doctorates, Tagaq is an original disruptor, at the forefront of seismic social, political and environmental change.

Tongues, Tagaq’s new album, will be released on March 11th 2022 on Six Shooter records. Produced by Saul Williams and mixed by Gonjasufi, Tongues speaks not to horrors and crisis, as previous Tagaq albums wordlessly, powerfully encircled, but directly of these things. ‘Tongues’ is Tagaq at her most explicit and specific.
Today, on a future past tundra laced in lichen, a chin embedded in the rocks opens its mouth to do battle. This tongue – meaty, adventurous, admonishing, wounded, regenerated – also knows how to survive.

Tanya Tagaq’s new album is a manual for inner and outer revolution. It is the soundtrack of righteous taking-back of personhood and power. It is a triumph of strength and intelligence that invites the listener to join her in a personal victory over colonization, over those who take without consent. Ahead of the album’s release, Tagaq has shared a video 3D tundra for the title-track.

Tanya Tagaq
track list
Six Shooter Records

1. In Me
2. Tongues
3. Colonizer
4. Teeth Agape
5. Birth
6. I Forgive Me
7. Nuclear
8. Do Not Fear Love
9. Earth Monster
10. Colonizer (Tundra Mix)

Pre-order Tongues by Tanya Tagaq HERE


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.