Soldiers Of Fortune release new track

Indie supergroup Soldiers of Fortune have released their new single "Campus Swagger", featuring Stephen Malkmus

Soldiers Of Fortune began as an anti-band, combining members of Oneida, Chavez, and Interpol. On November 6th their second LP Early Risers will be released via Mexican Summer. The band’s latest single “Campus Swagger” featuring Stephen Malkmus has been released today, after the Cass McCombs fronted previous single “Old Roman Wall”.

In the beginning, SOF’s only goal was to play a rare show every now and then that they could assault, terrorize, and shred, relying only on instinct, intuition and the chemistry of the band of brothers (bros if you will) in the moment of battle (show) – it was either sink or swim, or death before glory. However, after meeting with Keith Abrahamsson and learning what his label Mexican Summer was all about SOF conceded and signed a deal. Months later, in August, they were in an unfinished Gary’s Electric studio on the hottest three days of 2010, and somehow walked out of the studio with a 12” called Ball Strenth.

Now here they are, another five years, very few shows, or LPs sold, later: in 2013 they got bamboozled by Keith into a SECOND recording, but this time they were offered “undisclosed” amounts of studio time alongside the usual “carte blanche”. After three weeks and aborting EVERYTHING, they took a six-month hiatus, then headed back to the studio, and recorded a dozen ‘song ideas’, rather than jams, over an afternoon. They then called up friends who knew how to sing and finished up the damn thing in like three days.

The result is an LP they like to call EARLY RISERS, and beyond the core troupe consisting of Brad Truax. Kid Millions, Barry London, Matt Sweeney, Jesper Eklow, Mike Bones, Papa Crazee (heavy early riser in team Oneida) they abused the superior vocal stylings of our Healer, Shaman and Answer CLARK “YEREMIAS” BRONSON, STEPHEN MALKMUS, CASS MCCOMBS, DAN MELCHIOR, ETHAN MILLER and MATT MCAULEY.

Soldiers Of Fortune will be celebrating the release of the album at Max Fish in New York City on Wednesday November 4. SOF will perform two sets, 8:30PM and 10:00PM, both of which will be free.

Track List
01. Nails
02. Cinnamon Man
03. Campus Swagger (feat. Stephen Malkmus)
04. Old Roman Wall (feat. Cass McCombs)
05. Dog Tooth Down (feat. Ethan Miller)
06. Pure Shame (feat. Dan Melchior)
07. Santa Monica
08. Fatigues
09. Kall Mi Kaos (feat. Matt McAuley)
10. Which (feat. Clark “Yeremias” Bronson)