Watch Gord Downie’s “The North”

Watch Gord Downie's new video "True North"
Watch Gord Downie's new video "True North"

Before the release of The Tragically Hip’s Gord Downie’s new album, Introduce Yerself, tomorrow, Arts & Crafts has shared a video documenting the creation of the album’s closing song, “The North.” Directed by Jennifer Baichwal and Nicolas de Pencier, the clip is an intimate look at the creation of Downie’s staggeringly beautiful work coming together in the studio with producer Kevin Drew, Dave Hamelin and engineer Nyles Spencer at The Bathouse studio in Bath, Ontario.

Co-written and produced by Broken Social Scene’s Kevin Drew, the album’s twenty-three songs were recorded swiftly over two four-day sessions in January 2016 and February 2017, with the finished album often reflecting first takes.

“A lot of these I wrote the words in advance,” Downie said at the time of recording. “Like poems. I’d get one or two a day and then I’d have to stop. Because that’s about all… the soul or whatever, would give up. And then, so with music, it becomes pretty easy.”

Introduce Yerself will be released on CD and digital formats tomorrow, October 27. The vinyl will be in stores December 15 in a double gatefold jacket with two pull-out posters.

Gord Downie – Introduce Yerself Tracklist
1. First Person
2. Wolf’s Home
3. Bedtime
4. Introduce Yerself
5. Coco Chanel No. 5
6. Ricky Please
7. Safe Is Dead
8. Spoon
9. A Natural
10. Faith Faith
11. My First Girlfriend
12. Yer Ashore
13. Love Over Money
14. You Me And The B’s
15. Snowflake
16. A Better End
17. Nancy
18. Thinking About Us
19. The Road
20. You Are The Bird
21. The Lake
22. Far Away And Blurred
23. The North