The Rifles release video for “No Love Lost”

The Rifles release their new video for deluxe edition of 'No Love Lost'

The Rifles begun their career humbly, their  first single, Peace & Quiet, was self-financed, and released from their own front rooms in Walthamstow, UK back in 2005.

It’s been ten years since the the band formed. Cooking Vinyl Records is about to release the deluxe edition of the band’s debut album, No Love Lost, due for release on May 4th. The LP was Digitally re-mastered at Abbey Road Studios, it features the band’s B-sides from their band’s singles along with unreleased material from the ‘No Love Lost’ studio sessions.

The Rifles are inspired by  The Clash, Bob Dylan, The Rolling Stones and The Specials, No Love Lost produced the singles “Peace & Quiet”, ‘When I’m alone”, “Local Boy”, “Repeated Offender”, and “She’s Got Standards.”

Fronted by the vocals of Joel Stoker, rolling guitars and a hint of ska made No Love Lost a London soundtrack. With Ian Broudie on production duties, the album was initially released on a limited run.

Spearheaded by the single, ‘She’s Got Standards’, the album proceeds to deliver 11 songs  – a culmination of the band’s trademark Mod sound, rock and roll and timeless indie pop. “Local Boy” is an energetic piece of social commentary whilst “One Night Stand’”boasts strong melodic guitar hooks. The Rifles show their softer side with tracks like “Spend A Lifetime”, whilst “She’s The Only One” emerges as the sound of Motown via Walthamstow.

The band is set to perform ‘No Love Lost’ in its entirety plus all the B-sides with three shows at the Electric Ballroom, Camden on Thursday 4th, Friday 5th and Saturday 6th June.



CD 1 (Main Album)

  1. She’s Got Standard
  2. Local Boy
  3. One Night Stand
  4. Hometown Blues
  5. Peace & Quiet
  6. Spend A Lifetime
  7. Robin Hood
  8. She’s the Only One
  9. Repeated Offender
  10. Narrow Minded Social Club

CD 2

  1. Breakdown
  2. Fat Cat
  3. Lost in London
  4. Fighting
  5. Up Close
  6. Rock the Boat
  7. No Love Lost
  8. Lazy Days
  9. Rainy Monday
  10. Hard to Say
  11. Holiday in the Sun
  12. Down South

CD 3

  1. Local Boy (Demo)
  2. She’s the only One (Acoustic Demo)
  3. Rat Race (Live at Virgin Radio 2005)
  4. In-between Days (live at Radio 1 Maida Vale 2004)
  5. 22 years
  6. Hometown Blues (demo)
  7. Peace and Quiet (piano version)
  8. Waiting in Vain (Acoustic Demo)



Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.