The Ophelias Announce New Crocus LP

The Ophelias, will release their Crocus LP on 9/24. Ahead of the release, they have shared "Neil Young on High" featuring Julien Baker
The Ophelias announce new LP Crocus

The Ophelias, will release their Crocus LP on September 24, via Joyful Noise Recordings (Lou Barlow, Suuns). Ahead of the release, the quartet have shared the lead-track “Neil Young on High”  featuring Julien Baker.

Frpm vocalist/guitarist Spencer Peppet:

“We met Julien for the first time in 2019 at a show we played in Nashville. She introduced herself and I tried to not show how nervous I was! About half a year into 2020 quarantine I worked up the nerve to ask if she wanted to feature on a song from the album we were working on. She recorded her parts in Tennessee and we talked virtually. Her harmonies reinvigorated the song completely: she added lightness, openness, but also depth and complexity. It’s incredibly cool that she put so much care into those parts.”

On the meaning of the song itself, Peppet added After a relationship ended I would become obsessed with remembering every detail of the painful moments. I realised later that I don’t have to know what I was wearing or what song was playing to know that I was hurt deeply. I think “on high” means seeing someone as literally above you, better and cooler and more put together. I do love Neil Young, but in this case he represents a person, a time, a place.”

Filmed at various locations across including the American Sign Museum in Cincinnati, The Lodge KY in Kentucky, and the Valley View nature preserve, the band drew inspiration from everything from Twin Peaks to Joan of Arc for the “Neil Young on High” video. Peppet went on to say “I’ve had the photo of Lorde by Perou, the Fiona Apple photo by Joe McNally, and Zendaya’s 2018 Met Gala look saved on moodboards for years, and Jo has been obsessed with Joan of Arc for equally as long. We wanted to play with the idea of literally putting one’s guard up and letting it down, visually contrasted through the full armor and the lacey dress (though still with the sword). Jo specifically wanted to call back to the deep shadows of Renaissance paintings and 40’s noir films.The natural setting next to the bright neon lights added a tension that we felt matched the build of the song.”

Crocus track list:
1. Crocus
2. Sacrificial Lamb
3. Neil Young on High (feat. Julien Baker) (Youtube)
4. Vapor
5. Spirit Sent
6. Biblical Names
7. Mastermind
8. Becoming A Nun
9. Spitting Image
10. Under Again
11. The Twilight Zone
12. Vices

Pre-order Crocus HERE