Sun June Release Video For “Bad Girl”

Sun June have released a video for their single "Bad Girl." The track latest off their latest release Somewhere. Of the song and video
Sun June "Bad Girl"

Sun June have released a video for their single “Bad Girl.” The track latest off their latest release Somewhere. Of the song and video, Sun June’s Laura Colwell says “Bad Girl is about a deep manic drive to regress into the person I used to be – back when being bad was cool and being cool was everything. I was given a lot of freedom as a teenager and always took advantage of it. After I lost a good friend in high school, my fear of death was overwhelming. The song reflects on how that fear combined with my own thrill-seeking affected my decisions since. It cycles through self-destructive choices I’ve made in relationships to avoid responsibility, and how my fear of loss has lead me down some dumb paths. The tone is sad and resigned, but also self-righteous somehow.

There’s something pushing and pulling between the lyrics and the beat, so we thought a dance video might draw out some internal tension. We filmed around Lockhart, TX, where we recorded the album, because there are so many farms and fields out there that are unchanged despite the area’s growth. We took some inspiration from films like “Blood Simple” and “What’s Eating Gilbert Grape,” which were also shot in rural towns just outside of Austin. Basically, we tried to channel Frances McDormand, Willie Nelson, and Haim (if Haim were an only child).”

Sun June
Run For Cover/Keeled Scales
February 5, 2021

1. Bad With Time
2. Everything I Had
3. Singing
4. Bad Girl
5. Karen O
6. Everywhere
7. Once in a While
8. Finding Out
9. Seasons
10. Real Thing
11. Colors

Having spent their college years within the gloomy, cold winters of the North East, Laura Colwell and Stephen Salisbury met in the vibrant melting-pot of inspiration that is Austin, Texas while working on Terrence Malick’s film Song to Song. Colwell and Salisbury formed Sun June alongside Michael Bain on lead guitar, Sarah Schultz on drums, and Justin Harris on bass and released their debut album, Years, in 2018. Though somewhat tongue in cheek, the band coined the term ‘regret pop,’ a perfect descriptor for the music they make- the gentle sway of their country leaning pop songs are seeped in melancholy, as if each subtle turn of phrase is always grasping for something just out of reach.

pre-order Somewhere by Sun June here


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.