Sextile announces new album PUSH

Los Angeles trio Sextile has announced their new LP PUSH, will drop on September 15th, via their new album Sacred Bones
Sextile photo by Credit: Sarah Pardini

Los Angeles trio Sextile has announced their new Lp PUSH, will drop on September 15th, via their new album Sacred Bones. The news arrives after the arrival of singles – “Contortion”, “Modern Weekend”, and “Crassy Mel”.

Today, they’ve shared the song “New York,” which opens with frosty synth tones that give way to a house-y drum machine groove and distorted, elastic bassline. “We’re tough out here but the love goes crazy,” singer Mel Scaduto repeats, paying homage to the warm steeliness of her birthplace. It’s accompanied by a video, directed by Jim Larson, and which features Mel having a lively time while bouncing between Big Apple landmarks.

“Written as a dedication to my former home and birthplace. Cause New Yorkers are really tough, but their love goes crazy” – Mel

Originally formed by Brady Keehn and Melissa Scaduto after the pair relocated from New York to LA, Sextile released their debut album A Thousand Hands in 2015, with its Grand Canyon-sized echoes, haunted screams, and post-punk invocations, before pushing synths further down the front with 2017 effort Albeit Living.

Now they return refreshed, renewed, and ready to rage with a serotonin-boosting new album, a new group dynamic, faster BPMs, and an even wilder new direction. Recorded in Yucca Valley, Push bounces and bops at the fringes of hardcore dance music, with the hallmarks of drum & bass, gabber and trance illuminating the record like glowsticks at a ‘90s Fantazia rave. Both Scaduto and Keehn have been busying themselves with more dancing and DJ gigs, and this fun flurry of activity has in turn fuelled the band’s sonic refit. “We talked about how one of the criteria for these songs is ‘Would I be able to actually dance to it?’ I don’t think we’ve ever set that criteria before. We wanted to have a record that is just full of dance songs.”

Sacred Bones

1. Contortion
2. No Fun
3. Crassy Mel
4. Lost Myself Again
5. Crash
6. New York
7. Basically Crazy
8. Modern Weekend
9. LA DJ
10. Plastic
11. Imposter

Pre-order Push by Sextile HERE


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.