Molchat Doma “Zvezdy”

Belarus-based trio Molchat Doma, recently shared a new video for “Zvezdy”. The single arrives Following the recent release of their new album Monument, available via Sacred Bones. Translating as “Stars,” the track encapsulates their Russian-language noir romance, with vocalist Egor Shutko chanting “You are the stars, and I am the moon / I am the moon / You are the sun / You are the sun / You are the sun / In my eyes.”

The new video, directed by Mikita Kostochko and filmed in their home town of Minsk, Belarus, beautifully complements the wistful sense of yearning, following a man who spends his days reluctantly painting over inspired graffiti.

Molchat Doma (translated as “Houses Are Silent”), founded in 2017 in Minsk, stand at the intersection of post-punk, new-wave and synth-pop. Dark, yet danceable. The band is comprised of Egor Shkutko, who sings the Russian lyrics in his deep, thundering tones, Roman Komogortsev on guitar, synths, and drum machine, and Pavel Kozlov on bass and synths.

Written and recorded while the band was quarantined in their hometown of Minsk during the COVID-19 pandemic, ‘Monument’ is a conscious step up in songwriting and fidelity, and it reveals a band preternaturally comfortable in its own skin. Their greatest strength has always been their songwriting, and three albums in, they have truly honed their craft.

Molchat Doma

1. Utonut
2. Obrechen
3. Discoteque
4. Ne Smeshno
5. Otveta Net
6. Zvezdy
7. Udalil Tvoy Nomer
8. Leningradskiy Blues
9. Lubit ‘i Vypolnyat’


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.