Jon Hopkins releases “Cold Out There” video

Jon Hopkins releases new video for "Cold Out There"

Today, Jon Hopkins shares a brand new video for the track ‘Cold Out There’ taken from his remastered and reissued debut album, Opalescent, available this month via Just Music. The director Dan Tombs who made the video with the assistance of Marcus Williams said the following:

“I took a camera-equipped drone out to a remote and deserted part of the Norfolk coast and let it gracefully ascend to several hundred meters. The aim was for the landscape to evoke an otherworldly nature – both familiar and uncertain. The melody coincides with flashes of colour that offer a glimpse of imaginary celestial bodies moving through time and space.”

Opalescent, the debut album from the Mercury Music Prize and Ivor Novello award-nominated artist Jon Hopkins, has been remastered and reissued for its 15 year anniversary and is available now via Just Music. Sought after fans, who have repeatedly demanded a remastered vinyl version, the seminal album is finally be available as a special edition gatefold LP with brand new liner notes.

Back in 2001, the process of creating Opalescent was a joyful one. At the age of 20, Jon had just signed to ambient label Just Music who bought him a PC, and with a hotchpotch of software and some basic equipment, he set to work. His only assistance came from his friend and regular collaborator Leo Abrahams, who plays Opalescent’s sparkling, plangent guitars.

For all Hopkins enjoyed making Opalescent, this was an uncertain period in his life. He was a shy and reclusive musician adrift in London and, like any artist, prey to doubts and apprehension. At its most radiant and awe-inspiring (“Lost In Thought”, “Halcyon”), Opalescent is tinged with something wistful, even mournful. The chilly and hollow, piano-led “Apparition” or the lost-in-deep-space ambience of stand-out track, “Cold Out There” contain a kind of universal longing, an ache for love or transcendence, that you can hear in instrumental music as diverse as Tangerine Dream and jazz pianist Bill Evans’s solo pieces.

The full tracklisting is as follows:

1) Elegiac
2) Private Universe
3) Halcyon
4) Opalescent
5) Lost in Thought
6) Fading Glow
7) Apparition
8) Inner Peace
9) Cerulean
10) Grace
11) Cold Out There
12) Afterlife