“Ghost of Myselsf” By Artsick

Artsick was formed in June 2018 when Christina Riley was feeling “artsick” and writing songs, but missing the inspiration and excitement of collaborating with her old band, Burnt Palms. Christina played Mario Hernandez (Kids On A Crime Spree, Ciao Bella) a couple of demos and recognizing that “artsick” feeling, Mario offered to play drums and record some songs at his fully-analog Oakland recording studio. Christina’s bass idol, Donna McKean (Lunchbox, Hard Left), who loved the songs and jumped at the chance to help her friends with their “artsickness” and a band was born, resulting in the new album.

Recorded over the course of a year with Tim Brown (Lunchbox, Hard Left), Artsick’s debut album Fingers Crossed is a thrilling, compelling and downright fun record that surveys a vast swathe of indie and indiepop history; from DIY progenitors like Dolly Mixture through the punkier side of C86 (think Talulah Gosh, Fat Tulips) to the 90s K Records-centered International Pop Underground and straight through more recent exemplars like Vivian Girls and Colleen Green.

Fingers Crossed
Track Listing:

1. Restless
2. Despise
3. Look Again
4. Ghost of Myself
5. Living A Lie
6. Dealing With Tantrums
7. Stress Bomb
8. Ship Has Sailed
9. Vacant
10. Be OK
11. Fiction


1/7 – Oakland, CA – Golden Bull (Oakland Weekender)

Pre-order Fingers Crossed by Artsick HERE


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.