“Delirium (Don’t Follow The Sheep)” Computer Magic

"Delirium (Don’t Follow The Sheep)" by Computer Magic, is Northern Transmissions' 'Song of the Day'
Computer Magic

Computer Magic, aka producer/songwriter Danielle “Danz” Johnson, releases her new album, DANZ, via her own Channel 9 Records, sharing a second single from album, “Delirium (Don’t Follow The Sheep)”. A semi-autobiographical album, DANZ is darker and more experimental, delving into themes such as losing yourself and your memory, a dystopian future and, specifically on “Delirium”… not following the crowd.

Of the track, Danz stated: There were a couple of things that inspired “Delirium (Don’t Follow The Sheep)”. I went to the movies this past summer and there were two separate ticket lines for these automated ticket booths. Everyone was in one line, even though both machines worked. I got my ticket at the machine with no line, after everyone saw this they realized both machines were working and formed another line behind the machine I went to. I just thought to myself, how some people become sheep, not because they can’t think for themselves but because it’s ingrained in us to be lazy, to go with the crowd, to get in the line with other people. It’s easier. The lyrics are about not following the masses and thinking for yourself. It was kind of my way of dealing with my feelings after the election, too. I just wanted to write a song that was a f*** you to Trump. I think most Computer Magic tracks aren’t very political (I tend to shy away from that) but I do write songs about dystopian futures. I needed to get it out, about how we have a president that has lost his mind and how I feel like we’re now living in one of those crazy dystopian novels.

A fully operational solo entity, Danielle writes and records at her own Brooklyn studio, while running her own Channel 9 Records, handling the art design for her singles/albums and merchandise, while handling day-to-day operations. She DJ’s a radio show every other week on Newtown Radio called “Outerspace”, and was the face of Kim Gordon’s X-Girl and Sofia Coppola’s label Milkfed.

track listing:

01. Amnesia
02. Nebraskaland
03. Ordinary Life (Message From An A.I. Girlfiend)
04. Delirium (Don’t Follow The Sheep)
05. Teegra
06. Perfect Game
07. Data
08. Space And Time / Pale Blue Dot
09. Drift Away
10. Clouds


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.