Dave Gahan joins Humanist for new single

Depeche Mode's Dave Gahan joins Humanist for new single "Shock Collar." Humanist's Debut self-titled album arrives out Feb 21 via Ignition Records
Humanist "Shock Collar"

Humanist, is the project of guitarist and producer Rob Marshall. Today, he has shared his forthcoming self-titled album’s new single “Shock Collar”, which features Depeche Mode’s singer Dave Gahan. The debut album will be released via Ignition Records on Feb 21st.

Produced by Rob Marshall (guitarist of Exit Calm and co-writer of Mark Lanegan’s celebrated “Gargoyle” and “Somebody’s Knocking” albums) who wrote, played and produced all the music here, Humanist is a swirling Niagara of fuzzed-out industrial melody and noise, that has attracted an all-star cast of collaborators including Mark Lanegan (Queens Of The Stone Age), Dave Gahan (Depeche Mode), Mark Gardener (Ride), Carl Hancock Rux (David Holmes, Portishead), John Robb (The Membranes), Joel Cadbury (UNKLE), Ilse Maria, Ron Sexsmith and Jim Jones (The Jim Jones Revue, Thee Hypnotics).

New single “Shock Collar” offers a stirring insight into the world that Humanist soundtracks, and its accompanying video is a dizzying, emotive and luminous visual gateway into the song. Filmed in New York, directed by Derrick Belcham (Brian Eno) and designed by Tracey Maurice (Arcade Fire), the video explores the psychology of a heartbroken and regretful figure and the dual symbol of the halo / shock collar as a guide. Gahan comments; “It was a pleasure to be asked to be a part of Rob’s ‘Humanist’ project. Mark Lanegan asked me, and I liked the idea immediately… It’s a beast! I went for the vocal, with the visual of driving fast on an empty highway… We shot the video over a couple of days in New York, and it all came together”.

Rob Marshall continues; “I’d been writing a lot of music at the time for the record, and I was really getting back into big guitar tracks again, and I had a song (which would eventually become ‘Shock Collar) that I felt could be a great single. It was something special when Dave said he would sing this. He’s achieved so much over the years, an incredible front man, with such a soaring voice and presence, but with no trademark tone of celebrity or ego whatsoever. Very humble, gentle and giving. When we shot the video, he worked extremely hard on the day, performing each take with total gusto and energy, which didn’t let up throughout his performances.”

Track listing
Ignition Records

1. Intro
2. Kingdom (feat. Mark Lanegan)
3. Beast of The Nation (feat. Mark Lanegan)
4. Shock Collar (feat. Dave Gahan)
5. Lie Down (feat. Madman Butterfly)
6. Ring Of Truth (feat. Carl Hancock Rux)
7. Skull (feat. Mark Lanegan)
8. English Ghosts (feat. John Robb)
9. In My Arms (feat. Joel Cadbury)
10. When The Lights Go Out (feat. Mark Gardener)
11. Truly Too Late (feat. Ilse Maria)
12. How’re You Holding Up (feat. Ron Sexsmith)
13. Mortal Eyes (feat, Carl Hancock Rux and Joel Cadbury)
14. Shoot Kill (feat. Jim Jones)
15. Gospel (feat. Mark Lanegan)

Live Dates

March 23rd – The Sunflower Lounge, Birmingham
March 24th – The Lexington, London
March 25th – Sheffield Picture House, Sheffield
March 26th – Nice N Sleazy, Glasgow
March 27th – Riverside 2, Newcastle
March 28th – Soup Kitchen, Manchester
March 29th – Prince Albert, Brighton


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.