4AD unearths rare Rema-Rema LP

4AD releses rare Rema-Rema LP 'Fond Reflections.' The album arrives nearly forty year later, from the band’s archive of reel-to-reel and cassette recordings
Rema-Rema 'Fond Reflections'

Fond Reflections is the debut album that never was from obscure 4AD recording project Rema-Rema.
Rema-Rema featured members of The Models and Siouxsie and The Banshees, and their Wheel in the Roses EP (1980) was among the first records to be released on 4AD.

Nearly forty years after their debut EP and has been culled from the band’s archive of reel-to-reel and cassette recordings, with member Gary Asquith and mixing engineer Takatsuna Mukai painstakingly working on them to make this collection as cohesive as possible. The ten tracks pretty much reflect the band’s live set and is the closest to what their debut album could have sounded like. Worth noting too that although all their 1980 EP tracks are present on this album, they are different recordings.

The CD edition comes with a second disc entitled Extended Wheel in the Roses. As its title suggests, it’s the four EP tracks as they were plus ‘Entry’ (taken from the same studio session as the EP’s A-side of ‘Feedback Song’ and ‘Rema-Rema’) and ‘No Applause’ and ‘Murdermuzic’, two more tracks recorded at the same Albany Empire, London show in 1979 as the EP’s B-side, ‘Instrumental’ and ‘Fond Affections’.

Fond Reflections
Double LP Edition

A1. Feedback Song (Halligans Live Rehearsal Version)
A2. Rema-Rema (Halligans Live Rehearsal Version) 
B1. Gallery / Oh Rock ‘n’ Roll
B2. Lost My Way
B3. Short Stories 
C1. International Scale
C2. Fond Affections (Portobello Road Version)
C3. Why Ask Why
D1. Instrumental (Halligans Live Rehearsal Version)

D2. Entry (Halligans Live Rehearsal Version) 
Fond Reflections / Extended Wheel in the Roses
Double CD Edition

Disc One: Fond Reflections 

1. Feedback Song (Halligans Live Rehearsal Version)
2. Rema-Rema (Halligans Live Rehearsal Version)
3. Gallery / Oh Rock ‘n’ Roll
4. Lost My Way
5. Short Stories
6. International Scale
7. Fond Affections (Portobello Road Version)
8. Why Ask Why
9. Instrumental (Halligans Live Rehearsal Version)
10. Entry (Halligans Live Rehearsal Version) 

Disc Two: Extended Wheel in the Roses

1. Feedback Song
2. Rema-Rema
3. Entry
4. Instrumental
5. Fond Affections
6. No Applause
7. Murdermuzic