“Trailer Park” Matthew Logan Vasquez

"Trailer Park" by Matthew Logan Vasquez is Northern Transmissions' 'Song of the Day,' the song is of his forthcoming release 'LIGHT'N UP.'
Matthew Logan Vasquez "Trailer Park"

Texas singer/songwriter Matthew Logan Vasquez recently announced the release of his new album LIGHT’N UP. The Delta Spirit frontman’s third solo LP, LIGHT’N UP arrives via Dine Alone Records on Friday, February 22.The album’s release is preceded by lead-track,”Trailer Park,” along with its b-side “Poor Kids.”

Matthew Logan Vasquez
2019 Live Dates

7 – Oklahoma City, OK – Tower Studio
8 – Davenport, IA – Raccoon Motel
9 – Minneapolis, MN – Icehouse
10 – Chicago, IL – Schubas
11 – Indianapolis, IN – HIFI
13 – Toronto, ON – The Monarch
15 – Boston, MA – Middle East
16 – Brooklyn, NY – Rough Trade
17 – Philadelphia, PA – Boot & Saddle
18 – Washington, DC – DC9
20 – Charleston, SC – The Royal American
21 – Decatur, GA – Eddie’s Attic
22 – Nashville, TN – High Watt
24 – Dallas, TX – Kessler Theater
25 – Houston, TX – Heights Theater

20 – Costa Mesa, CA – The Wayfarer
21 – San Diego, CA – Soda Bar
22 – Los Angeles, CA – Moroccan
25 – Santa Cruz, CA – The Catalyst
26 – San Francisco, CA – Bottom of the Hill
28 – Seattle, WA – The Sunset
29 – Portland, OR – Mississippi Studios

1 – Salt Lake City, UT – Urban Lounge
2 – Denver, CO – Globe Hall
5 – Austin, TX – Scoot Inn

On “Poor Kids,” Vasquez reflects on defining struggles of his childhood – poverty, losing faith in religion and being sexually awakened too soon. His friends Michael Trent and Cary Ann Hearst of Shovels and Rope contribute haunting harmonies on the chorus. Wild Child singer Kelsey Wilson, a member of Vasquez’s brainchild super group Glorietta, and vocalist Taylor Nix (of Atlantis Aquarius) also contribute backing vocals to the LP. Judson Johnson, a longtime member of Vasquez’s touring band, handled drumming duties throughout while master multi-instrumentalist Spencer Garland (PR Newman, Black Pumas) added electric guitar on “Character Assassination” and played accordion on “I Love My Boy,” Vasquez’s lamentation on missing his son, Thor. LIGHT’N UP closes with “Oslo,” featuring angelic strings played by the Parkington Sisters backing Vasquez’s lyrical portrait of his struggle to come to terms with his new life in Norway and all he left behind in Texas.