The Chats Announce High Risk Behaviour

The Chats, have announced their debut album, High Risk Behaviour
The Chats High Risk Behaviour

The Chats, have announced their debut album, High Risk Behaviour, will drop on March 27th via Bargain Bin Records/Cooking Vinyl. Along with the news, the Australian trio has revealed a run of North American dates Today, the lads have given us a taste of the LP, with the wonderful video for “The Clap.” The Chats – made of Eamon Sandwith, Matt Boggis, and Josh Price – formed in 2016 while still in high school. Since then, they’ve released a self-titled EP in 2016 and 2017’s Get This In Ya EP, and have accrued a fanbase that includes Dave Grohl, Queen of the Stone Age’s Josh Homme, and Iggy Pop – the latter two who asked the band to open on their respective Australian tours.

Its lyrics are drawn from everyday experiences; from paying attention to the kind of stuff so banal that the rest of us don’t even notice it. Such as its lead single, “The Clap,” sung by Sandwith and Price, which is both a cautionary tale and the closest you’ll ever hear The Chats get to write a love song. Its accompanying video was directed by Matt Westonand features the band.

“I just want people to have a good time,” says Sandwith. “I want them to dance around and have a beer and enjoy it. We don’t make songs for people to look at in a fucking emotional or intellectual way. We just make songs for people to jump around and have fun to.”

In support of High Risk Behaviour, The Chats will embark on a North American tour later this spring. A full list of dates can be found below and tickets are on sale Friday, January 24th at 10am local time.

The Chats
High Risk Behaviour
Tracklist

1. Stinker
2. Drunk N Disorderly
3. The Clap
4. Identity Theft
5. Guns
6. Dine N Dash
7. Keep The Grubs Out
8. Pub Feed
9. Ross River
10. Heatstroke
11. Bill Backwash’s Day
12. 4573
13. Do What I Want
14. Better Than You

The Chats
Tour Dates

Fri. April 10 – Indio, CA @ Coachella
Sat. April 11 – Berkeley, CA @ The UC Theatre *
Sun. April 12 – Sacramento, CA @ Ace of Spades *
Mon. April 13 – Portland, OR @ Crystal Ballroom *
Tue. April 14 – Seattle, WA @ El Corazon *
Fri. April 17 – Indio, CA @ Coachella
Sat. April 18 – San Diego, CA @ Observatory North Park *
Sun. April 19 – Phoenix, AZ @ Crescent Ballroom *
Mon. April 20 – Santa Fe, NM @ Meow Wolf *
Wed. April 22 – Dallas, TX @ House of Blues *
Thu. April 23 – Austin, TX @ Emo’s *
Fri. April 24 – Houston, TX @ Bronze Peacock at House of Blues *
Sun. April 26 – Denver, CO @ Marquis Theatre *
Tue. April 28 – St. Paul, MN @ Amsterdam Bar & Hall *
Wed. April 29 – Chicago, IL @ House of Blues *
Thu. April 30 – Nashville, TN @ Exit/In *
Fri. May 1 – Atlanta, GA @ Buckhead Theatre *
Sat. May 2 – Charlotte, NC @ Epicenter Festival
Sun. May 3 – Washington, DC @ The Fillmore Silver Spring *
Tue. May 5 – Philadelphia, PA @ Theatre of Living Arts *
Wed. May 6 – Boston, MA @ Paradise Rock Club *
Thu. May 7 – Brooklyn, NY @ Warsaw *
Wed. Oct. 7 – Amsterdam, BL @ Melkweg Max
Sat. Oct. 10 – Paris, FR @ Maroquinerie
Sun. Oct. 11 – Cologne, DE @ Gloria
Mon. Oct. 12 – Hamburg, DE @ Gruenspan
Tue. Oct. 13 – Berlin, DE @ Festsaal Kreuzberg
Fri. Oct. 16 – Southampton, UK @ 1865
Sat. Oct. 17 – Nottingham, UK @ Rock City
Mon. Oct. 19 – Dublin, IE @ Olympia
Tue. Oct. 20 – Belfast, UK @ Limelight
Thu. Oct. 22 – Glasgow, UK @ Galvanizers
Fri. Oct. 23 – Manchester, UK @ O2 Academy
Sat. Oct. 24 – Newcastle, UK @ Boiler Shop
Sun. Oct. 25 – Leeds, UK @ Stylus
Mon. Oct. 26 – Brighton, UK @ Dome
Tue. Oct. 27 – Bristol, UK @ O2 Academy
Wed. Oct. 28 – London, UK @ Electric Brixton
Thu. Oct 29 – London, UK @ Electric Brixton

* = w/ Mean Jeans & Thick