TEKE::TEKE “Chidori” (Takeshi Terauchi Cover)

TEKE::TEKE "Chidori" (Takeshi Terauchi Cover)
"Chidori" (Takeshi Terauchi Cover) by TEKE::TEKE

Montreal-based Japanese psych-punk band TEKE::TEKE, recently shared a cover of Japanese instrumental guitar hero Takeshi Terauchi’s “Chidori.” The label simultaneously released a radio edit of the band’s single “Kala Kala” (‘Clattering’) from their upcoming Spring 2021 album. TEKE::TEKE is a seven-piece band featuring traditional Japanese instruments, flute and trombone alongside raging guitars and a pulsing rhythm section to create a sound reminiscent of 1960’s and 70’s era psychedelic Japanese soundtracks, with a frenetic, modern twist.

Formed in 2018 for what was to be a one-off instrumental tribute show to Terauchi, featuring covers like “Chidori,” the band then quickly found their original sound with the addition of vibrant actress, visual artist and vocalist Maya Kuroki. With their original single, “Kala Kala,” distorted guitars, flute, cymbal and trombone trickle in before a full-fledged freak out with pummelling drums and killer twin guitar riffs — then, 1 minute in, behind her trademark large framed glasses, Maya comes in, singing in her native Japanese and distinctive howl.

Of the signing, the band commented:
“We are deeply honored to be joining the great Kill Rock Stars family, a label we’ve long admired and that shares our community-oriented values and artistic vision. Not to mention, the incredible roster that was pretty much the soundtrack to our lives, featuring artists we humbly look up to. Exciting things to come.”

Slim Moon from Kill Rock Stars:

“I learned about Teke::Teke from Mi’ens, who are another Canadian band on our roster. I love every single thing about them, and I believe they will be embraced by fans of all ages, cuz the magic of the music and their personalities are just impossible to deny. They are perfect ambassadors for what Kill Rock Stars is all about as we head into our 4th decade.”


Serge Nakauchi Pelletier (Guitar)
Etienne Lebel (Trombone)
Ian C. Lettre (Drums)
Hidetaka Yoneyama (Guitar)
Yuki Isami (Flute, Synths)
Mishka Stein (Bass)
Maya Kuroki (Vocals)


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.