Summer Flake Announces ‘Hello Friends’ LP

Summer Flake Announces new album 'Hello Friends', due for release on April 8th via Rice is Nice.
Photo Credit: Geoffrey O'Connor

Stephanie Craise, AKA: Summer Flake, has announced her new full-length Hello Friends, which will be released via Rice Is Nice Records on April 8th. Summer Flake has released a number of EPs and an LP, in her native Australia. including Time Rolls By EP.

At once exuberant and melancholic, Summer Flake’s distinct sound is abundant in Hello Friends. The opening track “Son of a Gun” begins with a sweet melody, before swiftly unfolding into an unexpected wall of searing guitars. It’s followed by the winding “Shoot and Score,” with guitars underscoring straight-shooting lyrics not tied to any place nor time but that somehow are comfortingly familiar.

Drenched in a timelessness of reverb, Summer Flake’s songs are transcendent – moving through the dreamy wings of pop, via the Crystals and the Paris Sisters, down the lonely byways of Karen Dalton and Laurel Canyon folkies, ambling up into the grubby 90s of Hole and Sonic Youth, before lingering out finally into the sunshine of other dream-pop contemporaries like Best Coast or Mac Demarco.

Hello Friends continues Crase’s tendency for the thoughtful arrangements, ’90s-tinged frankness and dizzying harmonies.

Hello Friends Tracklisting

01. I’d Ask You Not To Look Away
02. Look How Far We’ve Come
03. Make Your Way Back To Me
04. Mess
05. Satellite
06. Shoot And Score
07. So Long
08. Son Of A Gun
09. Tumbling Down
10. Wine Won’t Wash Away


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.