Redspencer announces album and single

Australian band Redspencer announces album 'perks'

Melbourne, Australia’s Redspencer, recently announced their forthcoming release Perks. With the announcement, the band shared the lead-single from the album “Rainbows”. Perks is due November 18 on Deaf Ambitions.

In late 2013, rural-born brothers Dave and Aiden McMillian traded the sun-drenched plains of northern New South Wales for the rich cultural tapestry — and comparatively dreary weather — of Melbourne. The brothers are joined by alongside Andre Franco on bass, and Alex Buchanan on guitar.

The four-piece’s debut EP is a hark back to the band’s humble beginnings, evoking images of balmy, mid-summer drives along the coast with the windows down. The sunny, reverb-swathed guitar- pop of lead single ‘Happy Slow Riverbends’ captures that image to a tee, rousing comparisons to the likes of Spoon and Real Estate.

Latest single ‘Fuss’ (taken from their forthcoming debut LP) however, channels the trademark non-chalance of ‘90s cult-classics Yo La Tengo — complete with jangling guitars and mellow harmonies, blanketed with layers of groggy analogue synth. Below the surface lies the poignant musings of songwriter Dave McMillan, whose lyrics have been described as “existentialism for the everyman”.

With festival appearances at Brisbane’s Big Day Out, By The Meadow, Camp Casual, and Laneway Festival’s annual Live Music Safari – not to mention tour supports with Guantanamo Baywatch, The Preatures and Holy Holy – to their name, Redspencer are soon to be firing on all cylinders as they gear up for the release of their debut album.

Deaf Ambitions
Street Date: November 18, 2016

01. G-Talk
02. Fuss
03. Spare Me
04. Rainbows
05. Hard Work
06. Interlude
07. Perks
08. Petrol
09. Ride It Out
10. Some People
11. Convenience