Pink Mountaintops Announce Peacock Pools LP

Pink Mountaintops, led by Black Mountain's frontman Stephen McBean, are back after eight years with their new album Peacock Pools
Pink Mountaintops announce new LP Peacock Pools

Pink Mountaintops, led by Black Mountain‘s frontman Stephen McBean, are back after eight years with the announcement of their new album Peacock Pools. The full-length will drop on May 6th, 2022 via their new label ATO Records (amyl and the sniffers, Alabama Shakes). Along with the news the band, have shared the album track “Lights Of The City,” along with video, directed by George Mays.

Stephen McBean on the video

“Lincoln Heights hilltop sunrise riff’n’bang sparks spree of vengeance by disgruntled ex-bass player turned cyborg tinkertronic handsome man, Ken The Walnut.

Obsessed with Pink Mountaintops demise The Walnut’s sinister plot almost succeeds in a Don McClean sized wave of rock’n’roll destruction.

Thankfully, Emily Rose’s Phantom of The Park summoned superpowers save the band group combo and with some collective post-dress rehearsal concert magic the former low frequency fiend is defeated. Let the rock prevail!”

On Peacock Pools—Pink Mountaintops’ first new music in eight years—the British Columbia-born singer/songwriter/multi-instrumentalist shares 12 songs sparked from his magpie-like curiosity for a wild expanse of cultural artifacts: the sci-fi body horror of David Cronenberg, Disney Read-Along Records from the 1970s, early Pink Floyd and mid-career Gary Numan, John Carpenter movies, Ornette Coleman live videos, a 1991 essay on the cult of bodybuilding by postmodern feminist Camille Paglia. Featuring counterculture icons like Steven McDonald of Redd Kross and Dale Crover of Melvins.

Peacock Pools took shape from a batch of songs McBean first pieced together in the early days of the pandemic. “I’d moved into this cool little ’50s rancher house outside L.A. and was just mucking about in my bedroom studio, and pretty soon I started reaching out to some friends who were also shacked up and craving broadband sonic collaboration,” he recalls. Over the coming months, McBean began working remotely with a stacked lineup of musicians from the indie-rock and psych-pop and garage-punk worlds, including drummer/pianist Joshua Wells (Destroyer, Black Mountain), violinist/vocalist Laena Myers-Ionita (Feels, Death Valley Girls), drummer Ryan Jewell (Ryley Walker, Steve Gunn), vocalist Emily Rose Epstein (Ty Segall, Emily Rose & The Rounders), and keyboardist Jeremy Schmidt (Black Mountain, Sinoia Caves). Produced by McBean and mixed in Vancouver by former Skinny Puppy member Dave “Rave” Ogilvie (David Bowie, Nine Inch Nails), Peacock Pools also features several songs recorded live in L.A. with McDonald and Crover.

Pink Mountaintops
Peacock Pools
track listing:
ATO Records

1. Nervous Breakdown
2. Nikki Go Sudden
3. Blazing Eye
4. You Still Around
5. Shake The Dust
6. Swollen Maps
7. Lights Of The City
8. Miss Sundown
9. Lady Inverted Cross
10. Muscles
11. All This Death Is Killing Me
12. The Walk – Song For Amy

Pink Mountain Tops
2022 Tour Dates

2/15 – Sacramento, CA @ Ace of Spades
2/16 – San Francisco, CA @ The Fillmore
2/17 – San Francisco, CA @ The Fillmore
2/19 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Fonda
2/20 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Fonda
2/22 – San Diego, CA @ The Observatory North Park
2/23 – Phoenix, AZ @ Crescent Ballroom
2/25 – Albuquerque, NM @ El Rey Theater
2/26 – Denver, CO @ Ogden Theatre

Supporting Dinosaur Jr.

Pre-Order Peacock Pools by Pink Mountaintops HERE


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.