“Spoil With The Rest” by Ryley Walker

Northern Transmissions 'Song of the Day' is “Spoil With The Rest” by Ryley Walker
Ryley Walker

Ryley Walker today shares “Spoil With The Rest,” the third and final single from his forthcoming album, Deafman Glance. The album is due to be released on May 18th by Dead Oceans. Following previously released singles “Telluride Speed” and “Opposite Middle.” Having just wrapped up a run of U.S. dates with Calexico, Walker will tour Europe extensively this summer and fall as well as a headline run through North America in September. However, first he will play two record release shows at Hungry Brain in his hometown of Chicago, on May 18th (sold out) and May 19th.

Ryley Walker on the song:

“’Spoil With The Rest’ was, I think, the first or second tune written for the record in January of 2017,” says Walker. “I think it’s a really funny look at trying and failing. I tune the bottom two strings up a full step for this song. I always think I’m gonna break the strings when I play it live. Very fitting.”

Ryley Walker Tour Dates

Fri. May 18 – Chicago, IL @ Hungry Brain (Record Release Show)
Sat. May 19 – Chicago, IL @ Hungry Brain (Record Release Show)
Sun. July 15 – Bruges, Belgium @ Cactus Festival
Wed. July 18 – Helsinki, Finland @ G Livelab
Thu. July 19-Sun. July 22 – Salisbury, UK @ Larmer Tree Festival
Sun. July 22 – Leeuwarden, Netherlands @ Welcome To The Village Festival
Tue. July 24 – Munich, Germany @ Milla
Thu. July 26 – Ravenna, Italy @ Hana-bi
Fri. July 27 to Sunday July 29 – Vasto, Italy @ Siren Festival
Fri. Aug. 24 – Sun. Aug. 26 – Pine Plains, NY @ Huichica East Music Festival
Tues. Sept. 11 – St Louis, MO @ Off Broadway
Wed. Sept. 12 – Memphis, TN @ Hi-Tone Café
Thu. Sept. 13 – New Orleans, LA @ Gasa Gasa
Fri. Sept. 14 – Austin, TX @ The Mohawk
Sat. Sept. 15 – Dallas, TX @ The Foundry
Mon. Sept. 17 – Santa Fe, NM @ Rufina Taproom
Tue. Sept. 18 – Phoenix, AZ @ Valley Bar
Thu. Sept. 20 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Moroccan Lounge
Fri. Sept. 21 – San Francisco @ The Chapel
Sat. Sept. 22 – Big Sur, CA @ Freaks of The Festival
Mon. Sept. 24 – Portland, OR @ Bunk Bar
Tue. Sept. 25 – Vancouver, BC @ Wise Hall
Wed. Sept. 26 – Seattle, WA @ Sunset Tavern
Thu. Sept. 27 – Boise, ID @ Idaho Botanical Gardens – Great Escape Series
Fri. Sept. 28 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Kilby Court
Sat. Sept. 29 – Denver, CO @ Globe Hall
Sun. Sept. 30 – Fort Collins, CO @ Downtown Artery
Tue. Oct. 2 – Omaha, NE @ Slowdown
Wed. Oct. 3 – Sioux Falls, SD @ Total Drag
Thu. Oct. 4 – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th St. Entry
Fri. Oct. 5 – Madison, WI @ High Noon Saloon
Sat. Oct. 6 – Milwaukee, WI @ The Backroom @ Colectivo
Tue. Nov. 6 – Berlin, Germany @ Frannz Club
Wed. Nov. 7 – Aarhus, Denmark @ Atlas
Thu. Nov. 8 – Copenhagen, Denmark @ Vega
Fri. Nov. 9-Sat. Nov. 10 – Wangels, Germany @ Rolling Stone Weekender
Tue. Nov. 13 – Brussels, Belgium @ Botanique
Wed. Nov. 14 – Köln, Germany @ Artheater
Thu. Nov. 15 – Bern, Switzerland @ ISC Club
Fri. Nov. 16 – Zurich, Switzerland @ Bogen F
Fri. Nov. 16-Sat. Nov. 17 – Rust, Germany @ Rolling Stone Park
Mon. Nov. 19 – Barcelona, Spain @ Sidecar
Tue. Nov. 20 – Madrid, Spain @ El Intruso
Wed. Nov. 21 – Sevilla, Spain @ Sala X
Thu. Nov. 22 – Lisbon, Portugal @ ZDB
Sat. Nov. 24 – San Sebastian, Spain @ Badabada
Tue. Nov. 27 – London, UK @ Scala
Wed. Nov. 28 – Bristol, UK @ The Fleece
Thu. Nov. 29 – Manchester, UK @ Band On The Wall
Fri. Nov. 30 – Brighton, UK @ The Old Market
Sat. Dec. 1 – Paris, France @ Point Ephemere
Sun. Dec. 2 – Amsterdam, Netherlands @ Paradiso Noord
Thu. Dec. 6 – Detroit, MI @ El Club
Fri. Dec. 7 – Toronto, ON @ Baby G
Sat. Dec. 8 – Montreal, QC @ L’Esco
Sun. Dec. 9 – Portland, ME @ SPACE Gallery
Tue. Dec. 11 – Boston, MA @ Great Scott
Wed. Dec. 12 – Providence, RI @ Columbus Theatre
Thu. Dec. 13 – Philadelphia, PA @ Boot & Saddle
Sat. Dec. 15 – Montclair, NJ @ Outpost In The Suburbs
Sun. Dec. 16 – Washington, DC @ Songbyrd
Tue. Dec. 18 – Knoxville, TN @ Pilot Light
Wed. Dec. 19 – Atlanta, GA @ Drunken Unicorn