“My Drugs, My Dreams,” Evening Hymns

Evening Hymns AKA: multi-artist Jonas Bonnetta, recently shared his new single, “My Drugs, My Dreams,” along with a video directed by Monika Kraska. Bonnetta, also revealed his forthcoming release Heavy Nights will drop via Shuffling Feet Records on June 26. The full-length features Joseph Shabason (Destroyer), José Contreras (By Divine Right) and Bonnetta’s partner, Caylie Runciman (Boyhood). Recorded and self-produced at Port William Sound, Bonnetta’s rural studio in Eastern Ontario, the new single follows “I Can Only Be Good.”

Evening Hymns on “My Drugs, My Dreams:”

“I wrote this song in my living room right after my breakup, totally terrified and alone,” says Bonnetta. “Again, all these huge questions came back to me and I was so confused and drained. I’d just hurt this person that I loved and had loved for so long and who I had had all of these formative experiences with: touring the world, moving to the country, grieving my father. I wanted to remember it forever, to be present, to learn from it, and so drew the picture. I’d always had this feeling that love should feel good wherever you are, in some idyllic place or in some run-down miserable apartment. I wanted to be happy with nothing. To take away my vices and my dreams and still feel free and hopeful and capable of love.”

“I’d been working on this song for years and kept putting it aside when I knew I didn’t have the energy to make it better. In my head, I was chasing Rupert Hine’s ‘Arrested By You’ from the Better Off Dead soundtrack, a childhood favourite. I got this big drumbeat going and then just muted all the old drums and guitars. The strings still fit beautifully and that became the song.”

The new album marks Bonnetta’s first release under the Evening Hymns moniker since his 2015-record, Quiet Energies, an album that would find Jonas opening for the likes of Agnes Obel, Mount Eerie, Lou Doillon and Chris Cohen. In the time between records, Bonnetta has recorded a collaborative album with violinist, Edwin Huizinga (The Wooden Sky), released the ambient LP, All This Here under his own name and starred in the Canadian festival-featured film, ‘Drifting Snow’.

Evening Hymns
Heavy Nights

1. I Can Only Be Good
2. Heavy Nights
3. Pyrenees
4. The Days Disintegrating
5. You In Dreams
6. My Drugs, My Dreams
7. Kiss My Dreams
8. Halfway To The Moon