Listen To CocoRosie’s ‘After The Afterlife’

Listen to CocoRosie's 'After The Afterlife'

CocoRosie produced their latest effort in collaboration with Icelandic composer Valgeir Sigurðsson and incorporated a host of guest performances, including frequent collaborator Antony Hegarty and longtime beatbox cohort Tez.  Out in North America on May 28th, the sisters decided to move forward with a self release for their latest offering, overseeing all aspects of the album release cycle from the perspective of an artist, subsequently gaining insight and a new level of control over the complete process. The result is magnificent, a brave lyrical composition that draws parallels between the destruction of the earth’s natural resources and the loss of innocence resulting from child abuse, synthesizing electronic and organic sounds to convey a futuristic, back-to-nature feeling while tackling bold issues.

This spring, the duo will unveil their collaborative efforts on a production of “Peter Pan,” commissioned by the Berliner Ensemble along with theatre director Robert Wilson. Later this year, Bianca will launch “Girls Against God,” an arts and letters print publication that keeps in line with the sisters’ personal feminist mission.

Tracklisting /

01. After the Afterlife
02. Tears For Animals
03. Child Bride
04. Broken Chariot
05. End Of Time
06. Harmless Monster
07. Gravediggress
08. Far Away
09. Roots Of My Hair
10. Villain
11. Poison

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.