Jeff Rosenstock Releases Ska Dream LP

Jeff Rosenstock releases Ska Fun album. The album is a fresh take on his 2020 release No Dream. The LP is now available to stream
Jeff Rosenstock releases Ska Fun

Jeff Rosenstock has released Ska Dream, a re-working of his 2020 release No Dream. “This time around all the songs are ska songs you’re welcome. The very good idea to make this record came together when, like many other bands throughout this pandemic that refused to participate in super spreading events, we were trying to find a fun way to make some music together to share with people. Otherwise we were just spending our evenings texting the group chat in dread about the collapsing world around us. Not the most fun band activity.

As with most things ska in my life, what started out as a fun goof with friends eventually morphed into “Hey, what if we tried to make it good though?” All of us have a pretty deep history playing and touring the country in punk/ska bands. We all understand the stigma that comes along with ska, we’ve all dealt with the pitfalls of it, and we’ve all kept on truckin’ regardless. If you are one of those people who loves music as long as it isn’t ska, that’s cool, we see you. This record isn’t for you and you don’t have to listen to it. Byeeee.

We live in different cities and don’t see each other a lot. This record was arranged through file-sharing, as SKA DREAM is the obvious 2021 analogue to The Postal Service’s Give Up. Drums were recorded by Matt Embree (Rx Bandits) in his practice space in Long Beach, CA. Mike Huguenor’s guitar was recorded at District Recorders in San Jose, CA. All other instruments were recorded in our respective homes.”

SKA DREAM was mixed and mastered by Jack Shirley (Deafheaven).

“NO TIME TO SKANK” contains a very short tribute to “Our Time” by The Suicide Machines. “Leave It In The Ska” contains a snippet of “Nite Klub” by The Specials.

This record includes contributions from Jer Hunter (JER, Skatune Network, We Are The Union,), Rick Johnson (Mustard Plug), Laura Stevenson, Ara Babajian (The Slackers, Leftover Crack), Boboso, Sean Bonnette (AJJ), George Clarke (Deafheaven), David Combs (Bad Moves), Chris Farren, Augusta Koch (Gladie, Cayetana), Angelo Moore (Fishbone), Franz Nicolay, nonregla, Elise Okusami (Oceanator), Mike Park (Bruce Lee Band, Skankin Pickle, Asian Man Records), PUP, Anika Pyle (Katie Ellen, Chumped) & Shannon Toombes.

Jeff Rosestock
Ska Dream

02. Airwalks (Alt)
03. SKrAm!
04. S K A D R E A M
05. Horn Line
06. p i c k i t u p
07. Leave It In The Ska
08. The Rudie of Breathing
09. Old SKrAp
10. ***SKA
11. Monday At Back To The Beach
12. Checkerboard Ashtray
13. Ohio Porkpie


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.