“G.A.F.F.” By Tropical Fuck Storm

Tropical Fuck Storm, have announced their new LP, Deep States, will drop on August 20th via Joyful Noise Recordings (Sebadoh). Ahead of the release, the Australian band, have shared a video for lead single “G.A.F.F.”

Deep States is not quite a protest album. The band is far too wary of the self-importance attached to songs in the didactic mode. “We make pop records that don’t deny we’re all in a bit of trouble here,” Liddiard says. But Tropical Fuck Storm does their preaching on the sly, always cognizant of the fact they are making pop music, after all, no matter how avant-garde or “out there” it gets. Deep States comes complete with Q drops, nods to the January 6th Capitol Riot, a riff on pizzagate, MAGAs squaring off with Antifas, waterboarded Martians, dangerous cults from Heaven’s Gate to The Shining Path and, not to be outdone, Romeo agents who bed us at night only to betray us by morning. We live in a world in which the bizarre has become the normative, and Tropical Fuck Storm plumbs that paradox.

Lead single “G.A.F.F.” is an ode to the occasional dispassion brought about by the mandatory concern for every perceived injustice that happens, has happened and might yet happen that is being foisted upon the masses by super-yacht dwelling tech barons who monetise our indignation.” The accompanying video is over-saturated, and reflects the track’s chaotic edge and theme.

Tropical Fuck Storm
Deep States
Joyful Noise Recordings

1. The Greatest Story Ever Told
2. G.A.F.F.
3. Blue Beam Baby
4. Suburbiopia
5. Bumma Sanga
6. The Donkey
7. Reporting Of A Failed Campaign
8. New Romeo Agent
9. Legal Ghost
10. The Confinement Of The Quarks

Pre-order Deep States by Tropical Fuck Storm HERE


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.