“Evacuation” By The Vacant Lots

"Evacuation" by The Vacant Lots is Northern Transmissions Song of the Day
Vacant Lots photo by Chris Hogge

Brooklyn band The Vacant Lots have shared their new single “Evacuation”, the third track off their forthcoming album Interiors, available October 13th on Fuzz Club. The track follows previous singles “Amnesia,” and “Damaged Goods.”

The Vacant Lots’ Jared Artaud says of the track: “Evacuation is about internal conflicts and the duality of love and loss within a relationship. Looking inward and carving out the pain was a mantra for the whole album. You get this moment in time and space to translate complex feelings into the work. It cuts both ways. You’re creating something out of necessity that can also be shared with other people to inspire them or make them feel less alone. That’s what I’m after.”

Brian MacFadyen adds: “This track immediately resonated with both of us early on in the ‘trading demos’ phase of writing the record because of its primitive and raucous aesthetic. It taps into the original DNA of the band.”

And Iggy Pop adds: “I like The Vacant Lots. They try a number of things to just make a musical mood. They’re really not going for ‘this is pop’ or ‘this is dance’ or ‘yeah man rock n roll’ or whatever it is. They just create a nice mood wherever they go.”

Interiors was recorded at Brooklyn bunker home studios, with nods to 70s/80s punk and nightclub music ala Joy Division, Iggy Pop’s The Idiot, Depeche Mode, and New Order. The album sees The Vacant Lots team up once again with Maurizio Baggio (The Soft Moon, Boy Harsher) on mixing duties, who also worked on the band’s last two albums, Closure (2022) and Interzone (2020).

The Vacant Lots
Fuzz Club Records
Track List

1 Amnesia
2 Paradise
3 Ashes
4 Evacuation
5 Destruction
6 Scars
7 Endgame
8 Damaged Goods

Pre-order Interiors by The Vacant Lots HERE


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.