“Easy Keepers” By Tex Crick

“Easy Keepers” By Tex Crick is Northern Transmissions Song of the Day. The track is off the artist's album Sweet Dreamin’
Tex Crick photo by Jill Francis

Tex Crick has announced his sophomore album Sweet Dreamin’ will drop on October 13 via Mac’s Record Label. Crick was the first artist signed to Mac DeMarco’s illustrious record label and is thrilled to follow up his acclaimed debut with this poetic, stripped-back collection of piano-led arrangements. In his young career, Crick has already shared stages with Weyes Blood​, ​Kirin J. Callinan​, John Carroll Kirby, ​Connan Mockasin and Iggy Pop.

Lead single “Easy Keepers” is released today alongside a breezy, cinematic official video filmed during a spontaneous trip to Lone Pine, California. The reassuring song hits listeners in the gut as it follows a fictitious story of a lover accused of cheating. Throughout the chorus they explain they are nothing but an ‘easy keeper’, which is a type of livestock animal that can survive on relatively little attention or food such as a donkey, mule or horse. Crick explains, “Being an ‘easy keeper’ in a relationship would suggest that you don’t need the regular amount of attention that others may need.” Offering a tidbit of the song’s unique sonic atmosphere, he continues, “During recording, I dropped a pair of chopsticks in my Tokyo studio and it happened to hit a glass of water that made a nice sound. I re-recorded the sound of the chopsticks hitting a couple different glasses of water to alter the pitch and that’s what you can hear during the pre-chorus of the song.”

Tex Crick
Sweet Dreamin
Mac’s Record Label

1. Easy Keepers
2. Silly Little Things
3. Alley Cat
4. Mulberry Wine
5. On The Run
6. All I’m Dreaming Of
7. Drifting Off Again
8. Barefoot Blues
9. Spring Fever

Pre-order by Sweet Dreamin’ by Tex Crick HERE


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.