Cloakroom Announces Dissolution Wave LP

Cloakroom have announced, their new album Dissolution Wave and first with drummer Tim Remis will drop on January 28 via Relapse Records
Cloakroom photo by Vic Romero

Cloakroom have announced, their new album Dissolution Wave and first with drummer Tim Remis who joined in 2019, will drop on January 28 via Relapse Records. Recorded at Earth Analog in Tolono, IL, the album features loops and piano on “Doubts” by Matt Talbott (HUM), exterior percussion on “Lost Meaning” by Jason Gagovski (Sweet Cobra) and was engineered and mixed by Cloakroom’s longtime soundman (and childhood friend), Zac Montez.

Cloakroom’s Dissolution Wave is described as “a space western in which an act of theoretical physics—the dissolution wave—wipes out all of humanity’s existing art and abstract thought. In order to keep the world spinning on its axis, songsmiths must fill the ether with their compositions. Meanwhile, the Spire and Ward of Song act as a filter for human imagination: Only the best material can pass through the filter and keep the world turning.”

With lyrics based on an imagined cosmology, Dissolution Wave also marks a grand expansion of Cloakroom’s dynamic space-rock palette, which is strongly felt on the album’s airy and pastoral lead single, “A Force At Play”. Written from the perspective of the album’s protagonist—an asteroid miner who writes songs by night—“The miner is talking about ‘bottling lightning beams,’ which is a new take on the old music industry term ‘lightning in a bottle,’ which can pertain to a fire ass track or a good bottle of homemade booze,” Martin points out. “As you can imagine, bottling lightning is a pretty hard thing to do.”

Dissolution Wave’s melancholy title track captures the miner’s regret as they lament that they signed up for such a long stint on the job, while closer “Dissembler” describes their anxiety about the revelator who will judge their work. “If you don’t write a good enough song in this universe, you run the risk of being forgotten and lose the opportunity to return as a meaningful form of life,” Martin explains.

Essentially, the system is a karmic wheel measured by the worth of a song. “Can this existential dread be applied to our own world and mirror some Sanskrit cosmologies?” Martin posits. “As far as a cyclic existence and the actual fear of death processed by human abstraction are concerned, one hundred percent yes.”

Dissolution Wave
Relapse Records
Track List

1 – Lost Meaning
2 – Dissolution Wave
3 – A Force At Play
4 – Dottie back Thrash
5 – Fear Of Being Fixed
6 – Lambspring
7 – Doubts
8 – Dissembler

pre-order Dissolution Wave by Cloakroom HERE


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.