“Sleeping Volcanoes” Cass McCombs

"Sleeping Volcanoes" by Cass McCombs is Northern Transmissions' 'Song of the Day'.
"Sleeping Volcanoes" by Cass McCombs

Cass McCombs’ ninth full-length album, Tip of the Sphere, arrives February 8th, via ANTI-Records. Along with the news, McCombs has shared the album’s first single, “Sleeping Volcanoes.” McCombs starts his tour on November 9th in Weissenhäuser Strand, Germany.

While most of McCombs albums have been pieced together in different studios over an extended period of time, Tip of the Sphere was recorded quickly and with a strong sense of purpose at Shahzad Ismaily’s Figure 8 Studios in Brooklyn. Engineered by Sam Owens (aka Sam Evian), Tip of the Sphere features the core band of McCombs (guitar, vocals), Dan Horne (bass), Otto Hauser (drums) and Frank LoCrasto (piano, organ, and more), plus a range of guests.

Cass McCombs on “Sleeping Volcanoes”:

The track is about “people passing each other on the sidewalk unaware of the emotional volatility they are brushing past, like a sleeping volcano that could erupt at any moment.”

The ‘Castillo de la Esfera’ is featured inside the vinyl edition of Tip of the Sphere. ‘The ‘Castillo de la Esfera‘ was created by fellow Northern California artist and contemporary Tahiti Pehrson as an homage to Brion Gysin’s dream machine. When the ‘Castillo de la Esfera’ is placed on top of the record player, and as the record is played (with or without a lightbulb cantilevered in the center), thoughts are encouraged to wander.

Cass McCombs
Tip of the Sphere
Tracklist
Anti-Records

1. I Followed The River South To What
2. The Great Pixley Train Robbery
3. Estrella
4. Absentee
5. Real Life
6. Sleeping Volcanoes
7. Sidewalk Bop After Suicide
8. Prayer For Another Day
9. American Canyon Sutra
10. Tying Up Loose Ends
11. Rounde

Cass McCombs
Tour

Fri. Nov. 9 – Weissenhäuser Strand, DE @ Rolling Stone Weekender
Sat. Nov. 10 – Utrecht, NL @ Le Guess Who Festival
Sun. Nov. 11 – Utrecht, NL @ Le Guess Who Festival
Mon. Nov. 12 – London, UK @ Hoxton Hall – SOLD OUT
Wed. Nov. 14 – Leffinge, BE @ De Zwerver
Fri. Nov. 16 – Rust, DE @ Rolling Stone Park
Mon. March 4 – Washington, DC @ Union Stage
Tue. March 5 – Philadelphia, PA @ World Cafe Live
Thu. March 7 – Brooklyn, NY @ Murrmr
Fri. March 8 – New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom
Sat. March 9 – Boston, MA @ The Sinclair
Fri. March 15 – Indianapolis, IN @ HiFi
Sat. March 16 – Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall
Mon. March 18 – St. Paul, MN @ Turf Club
Wed. March 20 – Boulder, CO @ Fox Theatre
Sat. March 23 – Salt Lake City, UT @ The State Room
Tue. March 26 – Seattle, WA @ Chop Suey
Wed. March 27 – Portland, OR @ Aladdin Theater
Sat. March 30 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Fonda Theatre
Fri. April 5 – San Francisco, CA @ The Fillmore