Bartees Strange Debuts New Single “Wretched”

Ahead of the release of his debut LP for 4AD, Farm to Table, Bartees Strange has shared album track single "Wretched"
Ahead of the release of his debut LP for 4AD, Farm to Table, Bartees Strange has shared album track single "Wretched"

Ahead of the release of his debut LP for 4AD, Farm to Table, Bartees Strange has shared album track single “Wretched.” The song is paired with a video directed by Michael Parks Randa that mirrors the rags-to-riches, started-at-the-bottom-now-we-here theme of the album as a whole. Fram to Table drops on June 17, on all formats.

“This song is about the people who’ve always stood by me, even when I was wretched. When I was trying to be something other than myself – they saw me even through that and held me down. Folks from past lives, and folks who’ll play a big part in my future – I’m grateful for them and the love they’ve poured into me. This song is for and about them.” Says Strange.

“Wretched,” follows previous single “Heavy Heart”, “Cosigns” and the mournful “Hold The Line”. Where his 2020 debut record Live Forever introduced the experiences and places that shaped Bartees (Flagey Brussels, Mustang Oklahoma), Farm to Table zeros in on the people – specifically his family – and those closest to him on his journey so far. With his career firmly on the ascent, Farm to Table examines Bartees’ constantly shapeshifting relationship with life post-Live Forever. It also speaks to a deeper lore that says, don’t forget where you came from, and this album is why. Always remembering where he came from, across 10 songs Bartees is celebrating the past, moving towards the future, and fully appreciating the present.

Bartees Strange has released two records in quick succession: an EP reimagining songs by The National (Say Goodbye To Pretty Boy, 2020) and his debut album proper Live Forever (2020).

Bartees Strange
Farm to Table
Track List

1. Heavy Heart
2. Mullholland Dr
3. Wretched
4. Cosigns
5. Tours
6. Hold The Line
7. We Were Only Close For Like Two Weeks
8. Escape This Circus
9. Black Gold
10. Hennessy

Bartees Strange  2022 Tour Dates

18 June – LOS ANGELES, CA, USA, The Getty
1 July – SIX-FOURS-LES-PLAGES, FR, Pointu Festival
3 July – WERCHTER, BE, Rock Werchter 2022
4 July – COLOGNE, DE, Helios37
5 July – HAMBURG, DE, Molotow
7 July – BERLIN, DE, Badehaus
9 July – MADRID, ES, Mad Cool Festival 2022
11 July – MUNICH, DE, Milla
12 July – FRIBOURG, CH, Festival Les Georges
13 July – REES-HALDERN, DE, Haldern Pop Bar
14 July – AMSTERDAM, NL, Upstairs @ Paradiso
16 July – LEEDS, GB, Community Room @ Brudenell Social Club
17 July – MANCHESTER, GB, Night & Day Café
19 July – CARDIFF, GB, Clwb Ifor Bach
20 July – BRIGHTON, GB, Patterns
21 July – LONDON, GB, Powerhaus
22 July – SUFFOLK, GB, Latitude Festival
29 July – OMAHA, NE, USA Maha Festival 2022
7 August – CALGARY, AB, CA, Southern Alberta Jubilee Auditorium
8 August – BONNER, MT, USA, KettleHouse Amphitheater
9 August – OGDEN, UT, USA, Ogden Amphitheater
10 August – DILLON, CO, USA. Dillon Amphitheater
26 August – TORONTO, ON, CA, Budweiser Stage
27 August – OTTAWA, ON, CA, National Arts Centre
30 August – QUEBEC, QC, CA, Capitole de Quebec
1 September – HALIFAX, NS, CA, Rebecca Cohn Auditorium
1 October – COLUMBIA, MD, USA, All Things Go Music Festival

Pre-order Farm To Table by Bartees Strange HERE


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.