Arlo Parks Releases My Soft Machine Deluxe

Arlo Parks Releases My Soft Machine Deluxe
Arlo Parks Releases My Soft Machine Deluxe

Arlo Parks has released the deluxe version of My Soft Machine. The album arrives, following the release of Jai Paul’s “Jasmine”, produced by Dave Okumu, listeners can now enjoy the additional five, previously unheard recordings – featuring new version of “I’m Sorry”, with Congolese-Belgian singer/rapper Lous and The Yakuza, “Blades” with bars from redveil, a cover of Tirzah’s hit “Holding On” and acoustic versions of album favourites “Devotion” and “Pegasus,” all available via Transgressive.

“Jasmine”, which received Jai Paul’s personal stamp of approval, is accompanied by a Joel Barney-directed and Ali Raymond (Beatnik Creative)-produced visualiser, shot in New York. On what the track means to her, Arlo explains “‘Jasmine’ has always moved me deeply – to me it’s this shadowy, timeless and incredibly profound love song. I really wanted to draw out the yearning of the lyrics and pay homage to an artist who has had a seismic impact on me and on culture. Receiving Jai Paul’s blessing to create this cover with Dave Okumu was one of the highlights of my creative journey so far”.

My Soft Machine was recorded across London and Los Angeles, includes producers, including Paul Epworth, Ariel Rechtshaid, Romil Hemnani (of Brockhampton), Buddy Ross (known for collaborations with Frank Ocean), Carter Lang (known for work with SZA), and self-production by Arlo herself. This follows her highly acclaimed debut album, Collapsed in Sunbeams, which garnered two Grammy nominations, a BRIT Award, the Honda Mercury Prize, and the BBC Introducing Artist Of The Year Award, as well as chart success and recognition for her advocacy work with UNICEF and CALM, the UK mental health charity.

Arlo’s debut book, THE MAGIC BORDER: Poetry And Fragments From My Soft Machine published by Harper Collins Publishing, consists of the lyrics from her recent sophomore album, My Soft Machine, as well as new exclusive images by Daniyel Lowden and 20 new poems. Parks’ writing has garnered high praise from fellow musician Florence Welch, who described her writing as, “poetry you can taste,” with Katie Gavin of MUNA adding, “Arlo Parks pulls beauty around her as a war tactic, and she shares the spoils with us. I am grateful and invigorated.”

Arlo Parks
My Soft Machine (Deluxe)
Transgressive Records

Disc 1

1. Bruiseless
2. Impurities
3. Devotion
4. Blades
5. Purple Phase
6. Weightless
7. Pegasus (ft. Phoebe Bridgers)
8. Dog Rose
9. Puppy
10. I’m Sorry
11. Room (red wings)
12. Ghost

Disc 2

1. Jasmine
2. I’m Sorry (ft. Lous and The Yakuza)
3. Blades (ft. redveil)
4. Devotion (Acoustic)
5. Pegasus (Acoustic)
6. Holding On

Order My Soft Machine Deluxe by Arlo Parks HERE


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.