Young Galaxy ‘Ultramarine’ out on April 23

Young Galaxy Share Album details

Ultramarine is the name and colour of Young Galaxy’s fourth LP, the first album they have made away from Montreal, across the sea, all together. Like 2011’s Shapeshifting, Ultramarine was made with electronic producer Dan Lissvik (Studio); but this time it was made in Gothenburg, Sweden, at Lissvik’s studio; this time five musicians stood in a room with Lissvik, playing their instruments; this time every song was sung by co-founder Catherine McCandless. Ultramarine will be released by Paper Bag Records on April 23rd.  

 “In being away from home we felt like we could risk more,” McCandless says. “Take bigger chances. Things we didn’t think would work, we tried anyway.” Whereas Shapeshifting was compartmentalized – songs recorded in Montreal, sent to Lissvik to transmute – Ultramarine came to Gothenburg as a live work, the sum of a performing band’s blood and sweat. Once they arrived in Sweden they reinvented the material, together. But the live performances’ visceral energy stayed at the forefront – these songs aren’t mixing-board creations, they are kinetic, inhabited, and full of breath.

Ultramarine is more direct than previous Young Galaxy records have been, with songs of azure longing, Young Galaxy haven’t lost their other aspect: a willfulness, a purposeful independence, and a sense of darkness, unilluminated. As lighthearted as Ultramarine can be – as much as you can dance to it – there is also something elemental, something underneath.

Young Galaxy at SXSW:

March 13th, 2013 @ Red 7 (Forcefield Party) 4:15PM
March 13th, 2013 @ Swan Dive (Official Showcase) 11:00PM
March 14th, 2013 @ Flamingo Cantina (Under the Radar Party) 12:45PM
March 14th, 2013 @ Home Slice Pizza 5:40PM
March 15th, 2013 @ Lustre Pearl (FILTER Day Party) 5:00PM
March 16th, 2013 @ The Liberty Bar (Pop Montreal Day Party) 1:45PM 

Young Galaxy “Fall For You”
(Paper Bag Records)
Available digitally March 5, 2013
  1.Fall For You

2.Fall For You (Ghosting Season Remix)


(Paper Bag Records)

Street Date: April 23, 2013
  1. Pretty Boy

2. Fall For You

3. New Summer

4. Fever

5. Hard To Tell

6. What We Want

7. Out the Gate Backwards

8. In Fire

9. Privileged Poor

10. Sleepwalk With Me


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.