Watch a new video from Hooton Tennis Club

Hooton Tennis Club share their new video for the single "Katy-Anne Bellis",

Following the announcement of their forthcoming release Big Box Of Chocolates that comes out on October 21st via Heavenly Recordings, Liverpool band Hooton Tennis Club are sharing their new video for new track “Katy-Anne Bellis”. Clocking in at less than three minutes, it’s a brisk yet alluringly sincere ode to band member Ryan’s ex-flatmate, Katy-Anne, on which Ryan states: “She’d lived in the house for one year and three months. It’s just a mushy song about moving house and staying in touch”.

The light-hearted video honours these memories even the further. The band elaborate: “We decided to throw a soiree in the living room of the enchanted ‘Garlic Mansion’ for our song inspired by the wonderful Katy-Anne! The house she used to live in – a house of plenty – never a dull moment! People come and people go, and in this house all are celebrated. ¡Viva la garlic mansion!”

The song is the first to be revealed from the band’s forthcoming album, which was produced by Edwyn Collins at his Clashnarrow Studios in Helmsdale, Scotland.

Recorded over three weeks in Helmsdale, during which time they all grew beards, drank copious amounts of tea, became birdwatchers and whiskey tipplers, the album reflects the band’s relaxed approach to songwriting ; they tend not to labor over recording demos or strumming and beating the life out of songs in the practice room –instead—ideas are allowed to form spontaneously: melodies are hummed into phones or computers, lyrics batted back and forth between Murphy and Madden, songs worked out alone in the bedroom, or layered up from scratch together in the studio.

Formed in Ellesmere Port in Cheshire in 2013, musically, their inspirations range from Big Star to Can while elsewhere; they’re influenced by authors who deliver a ‘down and out skewed view of the world’ like Kurt Vonnegut, Hermann Hesse, Henry Miller.

The band have announced an extensive U.K. and European tour at the end of the year.

Big Box of Chocolates tracklisting:

1. Growing Concerns

2. Bootcut Jimmy The G

3. Bad Dream (Breakdown on St. George’s Mount)

4. Sit Like Ravi

5. Katy-Anne Bellis

6. O Man, Won’t You Melt Me

7. Statue Of The Greatest Woman I Know

8. Meet Me At Molly Bench

9. Lauren, I’m In Love!

10. Frostbitten In Fen Ditton

11. Lazers Linda

12. Big Box Of Chocolates

22 Oct 16
All Years Leaving Birmingham, UK
24 Oct 16
Grand Social Dublin, IRELAND
26 Oct 16
The Wardrobe Leeds, UK
27 Oct 16
Waterfront Studio Norwich, UK
29 Oct 16
Hug & Pint Glasgow, UK
30 Oct 16
Electric Circus Edinburgh, UK
31 Oct 16
Think Tank Newcastle, UK
01 Nov 16
The Leadmill Sheffield, UK
03 Nov 16
Portland Arms Cambridge, UK
05 Nov 16
Globe Cardiff, UK
06 Nov 16
Deaf Institute Manchester, UK
07 Nov 16
Thekla Bristol, UK
08 Nov 16
Boileroom Guildford, UK
09 Nov 16
Crauford Arms Milton Keynes, UK
10 Nov 16
Bleach Brighton, UK
12 Nov 16
The Horn St Albans, UK
13 Nov 16
Joiners Arms Southampton, UK
15 Nov 16
Bodega Nottingham, UK
16 Nov 16
The Garage London, UK
17 Nov 16
The Forum Tunbridge Wells, UK
19 Nov 16
Botanique Witloof Bar Brussels, BELGIUM
21 Nov 16
Paradiso Amsterdam, NETHERLANDS
22 Nov 16
Molotow Hamburg, GERMANY
23 Nov 16
24 Nov 16
Cassiopeia Berlin, GERMANY
25 Nov 16
Chelsea Vienna, AUSTRIA
26 Nov 16
Covo Club Bologna, ITALY
28 Nov 16
29 Nov 16
Supersonic Paris, FRANCE
09 Dec 16
Invisible Wind Factory Liverpool, UK


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.