Toro Y Moi Reissues Underneath The Pine

To celebrate the tenth anniversary of Toro Y Moi's Underneath The Pine Carpark Records will released the LP on coloured vinyl
Toro Y Moi Underneath The Pine

To celebrate the tenth anniversary of Toro Y Moi’s Underneath The Pine, Carpark Records will released the LP on coloured vinyl for the first time. The limited edition pressing of the original album will be pressed on Desert Sun Splatter vinyl. The new pressing will hit stores and mailboxes April 16th, 2021.

Hey Everyone,

This was maybe one of the more challenging records to make. It was made between tours for ‘Causers’ over the course of about 2 months. I’d never really consciously recorded a record. ‘Causers’ was a bunch of demos that I sort of just whipped together. But, ‘Underneath The Pine’ was a bit more conceptual in that I wanted to keep it all natural and free of samples and loops. I worked on it at my parents house in South Carolina by myself and recorded while they were at work and would stop around when they came home. Recording ‘UTP’ really pushed me to learn the proper way to record with multiple mics and acoustic space. I was listening to a lot of disco, funk, astral jazz, and psych rock. The lyrics were once again the last thing I added to the songs, you can hear all of the imperfections and happy accidents sprinkled throughout the record that make so many great moments. When it came to mixing I didn’t know what to expect being that I’d never mixed in a studio before. I ended up finding Chase Park Audio in Athens, GA where engineer Drew Vandenberg helped push my insecurities out the way on mixing my vocals. It was the last record I made before moving to California and a lot of the themes in my lyrics were about leaving home and staying in touch with friends and family. For me this record opened the door to make records like ‘What For?’ and ‘Star Stuff’ (CBMM2). It was a statement to move beyond the bedroom. Thanks to everyone who has supported me and the band for so long, we honestly wouldn’t be here without you.


Toro y Moi
Underneath The Pine
Carpark Records

1. Intro/Chi Chi
2. New Beat
3. Go With You
4. Divina
5. Before I’m Done
6. Got Blinded
7. How I Know
8. Light Black
9. Still Sound
10. Good Hold
11. Elise


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.