Told Slant “Whirlpool”

Told Slant, AKA: Brooklyn songwriter Felix Walworth (they/them), has shared a video directed by V Haddad and shot by Emily Sprague for “Whirlpool,” the latest single off his forthcoming release Point the Flashlight and Walk. Point the Flashlight and Walk, Told Slant’s first new album in 4 years.

Of the song and video Walworth says: “‘Whirlpool’ is about communication breakdowns, patterned, cyclical behavior, the kinds of relationships that render us incapable of giving and receiving care, and having nowhere else to turn. It’s about the impossibility of knowing something again once you’ve forgotten it.”

Walworth uses Point The Flashlight and Walk to explore the limits of devotion; How deeply can one sublimate themselves through devotion to another? What is lost and gained when that devotion is ruptured? The album’s dual lead singles “Family Still” and “No Backpack” dive headfirst into this theme of devotion and encapsulate the graceful and layering arrangements that shine through on the album.

Written and recorded in solitude in their bedroom, the creative process of making Point The Flashlight and Walk mirrors its narrative subject; the result being a layered arrangement built from the bottom up through experimentation, failure, failure, more failure, and inspiration.


1. Meet You in the City
2. Bullfrog Choirs
3. Flashlight On
4. Run Around the School
5. Whirlpool
6. Family Still
7. No Backpack
8. Moon and Sea
9. Fog on the Glass
10. Anchor
11. From the Roofbeams
12. Walking With the Moon

Point The Flashlight And Walk is available for pre-order now and due November 13th via Double Double Whammy