The Hidden Cameras 20th Anniversary Edition

The Hidden Cameras have announced The Smell Of Our Own 20th Anniversary Edition, will be released via Rough Trade Records
The Hidden Cameras have announced The Smell Of Our Own 20th Anniversary Edition, will be released via Rough Trade Records

The Hidden Cameras in collaboration with Rough Trade Records, today announce a 20th anniversary expanded deluxe reissue of their debut album The Smell of Our Own, which will drop on April 14th 2023. A deluxe edition will be pressed as a 2 x LP edition on yellow vinyl and features bonus demos, b-sides and live session recordings. To mark the announcement of this reissue, both the rarely seen incendiary debut TV performance of ‘Ban Marriage’ and a never before seen document of their first radio session performing ‘Boys Of Melody’, are being shared. Plus newly unearthed is this very early Canadian TV news piece originally broadcast on CBC in 2002 showing Geoff Travis discovering the band in Toronto.

The Hidden Cameras burst onto the Toronto music scene in the early 2000’s boasting an irresistible combination of pop and queer sensibilities. Playing self-proclaimed ‘Gay Church Folk Music’ a new genre of their own making and songs ranging from haunted, aching ballads to foot-stomping anthems. Fronted by lead singer-songwriter Joel Gibb, the ensemble continues its musical provocations to this day, with Berlin now as its center of gravity.

A rare documentary film Music Is My Boyfriend; a film about The Hidden Cameras recently saw its European premiere in London at The Castle Cinema in November as part of the Doc ‘n’ Roll Festival. Filmed in 2002 and only screened once before in Toronto in 2005 under a different title, Music is my Boyfriend chronicles the early days of The Hidden Cameras in Toronto. Combining interviews with original members, behind-the-scenes footage during a recording session and rarely seen 16mm film of two of their legendary live church shows, the film is at once a mash note to a beloved band and a time capsule of the raucous, vivacious queer underground scene from which it emerged. The film features stunning live performances in 16mm of several tracks from the group’s early live shows.

The Hidden Cameras
The Smell Of Our Own 20th Anniversary Edition
Track Listing
Rough Trade Records

1.Golden Streams
2.Ban Marriage
3.A Miracle
4.Animals Of Prey
5.Smells Like Happiness
6.The Day Is Dawning
7.Boys Of Melody
9.Breathe On It
10.The Man That I Am With My Man
11.Fear O Zine Failure – B-Side
12.Boys Of Melody – CBC Session
13.Smells like Happiness – 4 Track Demo
14.Shame – CBC Session
15.Day Is Dawning – CBC Session
16.The Dying Galatian – B-Side
17.Heavy Flow of Evil – B-Side
18.Ban Marriage – 4 Track Demo
19.Breathe On It – CBC Session
20.A Miracle – 4 Track Demo

Pre-order The Smell Of Our Own – 20th Anniversary Reissue HERE


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.