The Courtneys sign to Flying Nun

The Courtneys sign to Flying Nun Records, share new single "Silver Velvet".

The Courtneys have shared “Silver Velvet,” the lead single from their forthcoming release The Courtneys II. After naming Flying Nun Records as their number one influence for years, the legendary label signed the Vancouver trio as their first non-New Zealand act. The AV Club, who premiered “Silver Velvet” today, are saying it “highlights the band’s vast appeal.” The Courtneys II is available for pre-order now and due out February 17th on Flying Nun Records.

The Courtneys drift back to the sound of the early ’90s, drawing from strong influences including Teenage Fanclub, Pavement, Eddy Current Suppression Ring, and The Clean. Courtney Loove’s dreamy guitar riffs add a timeless powerpop element to the punk backbone formed by Sydney Koke’s driving basslines, while drummer/lead singer Jen Twynn Payne delivers heartfelt lyrics with a powerful vocal style. These components come together through a passionate collaborative songwriting process to deliver a their blend of fuzzy “artisanal grunge”.

The first Courtneys album (self titled) came out in 2013 on small independent label, Hockey Dad Records, based in the band’s hometown of Vancouver, BC, Canada. They have since worked with a number of independent labels including Conquest of Noise in Australia and Waterslide Records in Japan, as well as Burger Records and Gnar tapes in the USA. They have released a number of singles and music videos, and toured throughout Canada and the USA, including spots supporting Tegan and Sara and Mac Demarco.

In 2015 The Courtneys made their way to Australia and New Zealand, where they were hosted by Flying Nun Records. Influenced by the legendary label from early on, the group are excited to now be able to call it their home.

FEBRUARY 17, 2017

1. Silver Velvet
2. Country Song
3. Minnesota
4. Tour
5. Lost Boys
6. Virgo
7. 25
8. Iron Deficiency
9. Mars Attacks
10. Frankie


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.