Summer Camp Stream Track from forthcoming LP

Summer Camp Stream Title-Track from their forthcoming album'Bad Love,'

London-based duo of Elizabeth Sankey and Jeremy Warmsley AKA: Summercamp – will release their third album Bad Love on May 26, in North America via Moshi Moshi Records. The band has shared the track title track can now be streamed below.

Bad Love is set in the same spooked domestic terrain in which Summer Camp first made their name back in 2009, but the perspectives have changed. “I think we got all of our teen angst out on Welcome To Condale,” says Sankey of the band’s 2011 debut LP. “But this looks at how the cycles of those relationships repeat. The experiences you have as a teenager still happen to you, but as you grow up you’re better at dealing with them: the relationships you have with yourself, your family, your friends.” So with this album, they set about refining what they do best: creating a unique, immersive world through those heart-racing heavily distorted guitars, battered synths that sparkle like dirty tinsel, and the nostalgia triggered by a pastel sky.

In a similar vein to Welcome To Condale, Summer Camp have returned to writing stories about other people and imagined places across Bad Love. That’s the crux of the “Run Away,” the album’s heartfelt centerpiece. “I think my natural instinct would be to write a song like, ‘we’ve gotta get out of this town!'” says Sankey. “But that’s a song we’ve written before. I’ve realized within myself and my own family that sometimes you have to stay put. There’s one line that Jeremy wrote on ‘You’re Gone’ that I think about all the time: ‘Once you know why you’re hurting it hurts a little less’ – that’s something I’ve always felt, but never said.” Maybe it’s better to work out why you want to run away instead of just doing it.

Sankey and Warmsley self-produced Bad Love, a first for the pair; Pulp’s Steve Mackey produced Welcome To Condale and Smiths legend Stephen Street manned their 2013 album, “which taught us a lot,” says Warmsley. “But self-producing means you get the most direct expression of what you’re trying to do. It’s not filtered through anyone else. I feel like this album is the purest expression of what we’re like since the Young EP.”

Bad Love track listing:

Bad Love
You’re Gone
Feel Right
Just Fine
Run Away
So Happy So Sad
Catch Me
So Wrong
We Are The Moon
Keep Up

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.