“Spirits Alone” Doctor Fluorescent

Doctor Fluorescent’s debut self-titled album arrives February 28th, via Crammed Discs (home to Juana Molina, Acid Arab, etc). Watch the new video for first single ” Spirits Alone. ” The clip sees Doctor Fluorescent and his trusty assistants Scott Gilmore and Eddie Ruscha take an aerial journey in a flying command laboratory where they are presented with the tablet of knowledge and given the realization that all things end and flow in life on earth.

Although he is primarily a scientist and explorer, Doctor Fluorescent also plays musical instruments and uses electronic gadgets to express his ideas to the world. He is assisted by musicians Scott Gilmore and Eddie Ruscha, who sit back and merely facilitate what the doctor commands. Plug in a patch cable here, turn a dial there… whatever it takes to get the proper result recorded and keep the good doctor happy.

Back when Scott and Eddie began to create this music with Doctor Fluorescent, they utilized all manner of electronic and acoustic devices with no worries or concerns regarding their discoveries. They allowed the explorations to lead themselves where they may. Their experiments began to solidify into songs, and shortly after, stories began to take shape and the Doctor’s voice emerged (to be perfectly honest, the Doctor was born out of Scott and Eddie’s minds, but soon turned into an actual human being in every sense).

The music of Doctor Fluorescent almost reminds one of a private press electronic voyage album discovered in a stack of records next to Supersempft, Roger Powell and Wally Badarou. The album explores a wide range of sound, it’s experimental in many ways, yet each track still retains the semblance of a song. Each song is its own journey, often ending in a completely new place from where it began. Scott and Eddie have already made many records themselves using old synthesizers and drum machines, making them the perfect helpers to bring Doctor Fluorescent’s musical visions to life.

Doctor Fluorescent’s devoted assistants are:

Scott Gilmore

After his debut album Subtle Vertigo (which elicited comparisons to sounds as diverse as those of Air, Stereolab, Italian film music from the ‘70s and to solitary eccentrics such as R.Stevie Moore), the Los Angeles based musician joined the Crammed roster in early 2019 to release his album Two Roomed Motel, accompanied by a string of totally charming music videos.

Eddie Ruscha

Eddie Ruscha Jr has been performing and putting out many records under the moniker E Ruscha V and Secret Circuit, among many other guises and collaborations over the years. He has released many records of electronic psychedelic music on labels such as Beats In Space, RVNG, Emotional Response, DFA, ESP Institute, Invisible Inc. and Stones Throw. He also is a visual artist exhibiting his work around the world, and creates much of the accompanying artwork for his music. He has a radio show on dublab.com .

Doctor Fluorescent
Doctor Fluorescent
Crammed Discs

1. Spirits Alone
2. Butterfly Jury
3. A Museum
4. Carbon Footsteps
5. Doctor Fluorescent’ Emporium
6. The Church Sweeper
7. These Are My Eyes
8. Bamboo Horses
9. Softly Saying
10. Spies


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.