Robert Scott (The Clean) Premieres “Video”

Robert Scott (The Bats, The Clean) Premieres "Vertigo" Video today, New Solo LP

Robert Scott (The Bats, The Clean) Premieres New Video for “Vertigo” today. His New Solo LP The Green House comes out November 4th in the US via Flying Nun Records.

Robert Scott, frontman of The Bats, the centre point of The Clean, has a new solo album, The Green House, out this November.

Robert Scott’s list of music projects over the years reads like a who’s who of alternative New Zealand rock for the past 3 decades.  As well as his main role as bass-player, song-writer and non-Kilgour in legendary New Zealand noisy jangle-pop pioneers The Clean and as singer, guitarist and songwriter for his equally enduring band The Bats, Robert Scott also helmed the acclaimed Magick Heads for their brief but productive time on earth in the 1990s. In amongst those commitments he’s fronted a bewildering variety of less well-known groups and drawing or painting the cover art for many memorable Flying Nun album sleeves.

It’s hardly surprising therefore that Robert has found little time to pursue many solo records. But songs –  subtle, mysterious, sad, questioning, dramatic, simple, transcendent,  songs – pour out of Robert Scott constantly, collected in exercise books and on cassette tapes over the years.

The mood is quieter, it draws you in with intimate tales of the heart set in the weather and wide skies of the south. It’s a record of darkness and light, beautifully played out and accentuated with the aid of the voice of Tiny Ruins.

Indeed Tiny Ruins (Hollie Fullbrook) adds the perfect accompaniment, appearing on half of the albums 12 tracks. She’s not the only guest appearance either with extra guitar lines thanks to Tristan Dingemans (HDU), with drums provided by Rob Falconer. All expertly engineered and mastered by Dale Cotton (The Bats, David Kilgour) in Robert’s home of Port Chalmers, Dunedin.

01 Lights Are Low
02 Lava
03 Vertigo
04 Lazy Boy
05 Favourite Case
06 Now In Your Hands
07 Month of Sundays
08 Little Bird
09 Hear The Hondas
10 The Stary Show
11 Where The Frost Lies
12 Right From Wrong

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.