“Pink Sky” By Loma

Loma shares “Pink Sky,” a track from the trios from How Will I Live Without a Body?, out June 28th via Sub Pop records. The “Pink Sky” video was directed and animated by Sabrina Nichols (youbet’s “Nurture,” The Smile’s A Light For Attracting Attention), with drawings by Emily Cross. Loma’s How Will I Live Without a Body? was self-produced and recorded in England, Texas, and Germany, mixed by Dan Duszynski, and mastered by Steve Fallone at Sterling Sound in New York. All songs were composed by the group—with a few nudges from a unique AI.

Loma’s Jonathan Meiburg says, “This mischievous little song was a late addition to the album. We recorded it in a chilly, whitewashed room in southern England, and we didn’t have many instruments to work with at first – just a nylon string guitar, a 2-piece drum set, a Casio keyboard, and a clarinet. But we liked the challenge.”

The band’s previous album, Don’t Shy Away, was galvanized by kind words from Brian Eno; this time they were inspired by another hero, Laurie Anderson, who offered a chance to work with an AI trained on her work. The band sent it two photos, and Anderson’s AI responded with two haunting poems. “We used fragments of these poems in two songs,” says Meiburg. “And then Dan noticed that one of AI-Laurie’s lines, ‘How will I live without a body?’ was perfect name for the album, since we nearly lost sight of each other in the recording process.”

How Will I Live Without A Body?
Sub Pop Records

1. Please, Come In
2. Arrhythmia
3. Unbraiding
4. I Swallowed a Stone
5. How It Starts
6. Dark Trio
7. A Steady Mind
8. Pink Sky
9. Broken Doorbell
10. Affinity
11. Turnaround

Pre order How Will I Live Without A Body? by Loma here


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.