“Nothing Really Changes” By Slow Leaves

Slow Leaves has returns another track off his forthcoming album Meantime, “Nothing Really Changes” is described as a “breezy country-folk tune recalls the sounds of John Prine. “It’s a song about the isolation that comes with bouts of depression,” says Grant Davidson, the Winnipeg based artist behind Slow Leaves. “You’re alone in your head,with yourself,with an enemy to whom you’ve not only surrendered but embraced. There’s a perverse pride in this thinking, a pleasure in indulging what feels hopeless to resist. There’s a feeling of inhabiting the real you, of embodying now your true self. It’s a testament to the power of perspective, a bias in believing your present view is the correct one by perceiving clarity through clouded logic. You confuse stubbornness for strength. You begin to see those around you, your loved ones, bearing the weight you’d thought was yours alone. If I’m lucky this realization comes by way of a song, an acknowledgment easier said than done, that sometimes I need help too.”

Slow Leaves is the project with Davidson curating every aspect of the music and its presentation, including being the multi-instrumentalist, producer, cover art designer, photographer, and videographer. He views the totality of these various aspects as being essential parts of a larger project of self-understanding through artistic methods. His folk and psych-rock stylings recall older songwriters like Nick Drake, Mickey Newbury, and Neil Young. But they also live in the world of modern classic writers like Andy Shauf, Bedouine, Big Thief, and Bill Callahan. His silky voice has been compared to Roy Orbison or Bryan Ferry.

Davidson began playing guitar at age 15, inspired after discovering a Led Zeppelin II cassette tape in his older brother’s room. It was a finger-picked guitar however that would eventually form the heart of his songs. After three shoe-string budget albums under his own name, Davidson debuted as Slow Leaves in 2014 with Beauty Is So Common, followed by Enough About Me (2017), Shelf Life (2020), and Holiday (2021).

Slow Leaves
Birthday Cake Records

01 American Band
02 Reason Why
03 Happy All The Time
04 Nothing Really Changes
05 Grand Marquis
06 Jenny
07 Goodbye Florida
08 Anyone Out There
09 Underneath This
10 Say Goodnight

Pre-order Meantime by Slow Leaves HERE


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.