New Project With Jarvis Cocker + Many More

Announcing The Everything Is New Project Feat. Jarvis Cocker, Four Tet, Dan Deacon, Rustie, No Age, Gang Gang Dance, YACHT, Califone & More

Everything is New is a joyous and invigorating two-part international outreach project in aid of Dalit “untouchable” children in southeast India. Curated by Scottish arts community Transgressive North, it consists of two separate music releases – Marram’s Sun Choir featuring Jarvis Cocker, Owen Pallett, doseone, White Hinterland, and Margaret Bennett, and BOATS by various artists, including Four Tet, Dan Deacon, Bear in Heaven, Califone, Deerhoof, El Guincho, Gang Gang Dance, Lucky Dragons, Julian Lynch, Max Tundra, No Age, The Ruby Suns, Rustie, Son Lux, Sun Airway, A Sunny Day in Glasgow, Taken By Trees, Jamie Stewart (Xiu Xiu), YACHT, and many more. Both releases feature the voices of the Light of Love Children’s Choir.

Proceeds from the project go to the charity, Scottish Love in Action, which feeds, clothes, houses, educates and provides medical care for over 500 children by funding the Light of Love Home and School in southeast India. Children from the Light of Love Home and School make up the Light of Love Children’s Choir.

Sun Choir by Edinburgh-based band Marram is an exuberant celebration of global community and cross-cultural friendship. It features collaborations by renowned musical personalities from around the world, including Jarvis Cocker, Owen Pallett, doseone, Irvine Welsh, Margaret Bennett and White Hinterland, singing alongside the Light of Love Children’s Choir. Recorded over 6 years in 3 different continents, it is the Sagrada Familia of post-rave, orchestral art pop. Each track displays a towering symphonic ambition, featuring the voices of the Light of Love Children’s Choir among 200 instruments, including full orchestras and 1000-voice choirs.

Sun Choir Tracklisting:

01. Icarus Hope Choir

02. Amma

03. What If We (feat. Jarvis Cocker)

04. We Fly a Kite (feat. Margaret Bennett)

05. With Us Instead (feat. Owen Pallett)

06. Valuables (Intro)

07. Valuables (feat. doseone and Irvine Welsh)

08. The Butterfly, The Moon (feat. White Hinterland)

09. Seed I (Root, Shoot)

10. Seed II (Flare)

11. Falling From The Sun (feat. Jarvis Cocker and Margaret Bennett)

BOATS is a 29-track double album featuring exclusive tracks from Four Tet, Gang Gang Dance, No Age, Dan Deacon, Bear in Heaven, Rustie, Son Lux, YACHT, Califone, Jamie Stewart (Xiu Xiu), Sun Airway, Taken by Trees, Capybara, Deerhoof, doseone, El Guincho, Keepaway, Lucky Dragons, Julian Lynch, Matthewdavid, Max Tundra, Physical Forms, Ramona Falls, The Ruby Suns, rRoxymore, Slanter, A Sunny Day in Glasgow, and White Hinterland. Each individual act used samples of the Light of Love Children’s Choir, recorded for Marram’s Sun Choir, to create a new song of any length and description. As a result, BOATS is a diverse and kaleidoscopic concept-album with the children’s voices at its core.

BOATS Tracklistings:

Disc 1  

01. Boatsss — Rustie

02. You, The Living — Max Tundra

03. Weight In Song — doseone

04. Like A Dove — White Hinterland

05. In Love This Time — Taken By Trees

06. Angelo — Capybara

07. On The Line — Ramona Falls

08. My Father’s Children — Son Lux

09. Music Will Change The World — Matthewdavid

10. You Can Talk — The Ruby Suns

11. Birds Song — No Age

12. Play The Hand — Deerhoof

13. Those Mountains Are God’s Teeth — Califone

14. Gillie Amma, I Love You — Four Tet

Disc 2

01. Glace Voices — Dan Deacon

02. Between Suns — Lucky Dragons

03. Future’s Just Ahead — High Places

04. You’re Silk — Keepaway

05. Icarus Complex — YACHT

06. Botes — El Guincho

07. Blue City / Sun City — Sun Airway

08. Ask Iru — rRoxymore

09. Hey Tiger! — A Sunny Day in Glasgow

10. The Green — Bear In Heaven

11. Sarsaparilla — Slanter

12. Upside Dawn — Gang Gang Dance

13. Naava — Julian Lynch

14. Sound Lie — Physical Forms

More about The Everything is New Project

The Everything is New Project grew from a dialogue between the artists of the Scottish-based arts collective Transgressive North (TN), and the charity, Scottish Love in Action (SLA), both of which are based in Edinburgh. In 2006 Transgressive North member Jenny Chambers had visited the SLA-funded Light of Love Children’s Home in Tuni (Andhra Pradesh, southeast India) whilst still at school, and found it an intensely positive institution deserving serious engagement and investment. Jenny convinced artists in the Transgressive North to enter a dialogue with SLA and collectively, the TN found they were deeply compelled by the plight of Dalit “untouchable” children. The notion of “untouchability” – that some children might be told they were less valuable than others – inspired the TN to develop the Everything is New Project as a vehicle to empower and support the children of the Light of Love Children’s Home. The founding idea was to use the cultural forms which the children themselves found the most meaningful – popular music and cinema – to build funds and awareness in a project in which the children would participate. The project would attempt to counter any inherited preconceptions the children might have about their own value and legitimacy by giving them the opportunity to “star” in music and film works specifically designed to celebrate and empower their identities and means of expression.

The Everything is New project embodies the sum of 7 years of work, over several continents, with over 1,000 contributors, all working for free.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.