M83 Shares Previously Unreleased Track “Mirror”

M83 AKA: Anthony Gonzalez has released "Mirror," a hidden track from "Hurry Up, We're Dreaming," The song is out today via Mute Records
M83 photo by Anouck Bertin

M83, aka Anthony Gonzalez, has released “Mirror,” from his beloved 2011 album Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming. Upon the original release of Hurry Up, “Mirror” was a hidden track found only as a secret download in the packaging of the CD, and later released as a record store day 7”.

For Gonzalez, Fantasy’s direction and aesthetic was immediately clear. “I wanted this record to be very impactful live,” he says. “The idea was to come back with something closer to the energy of ‘Before The Dawn Heals Us’. The combination of guitars and synths is always in my music, but it’s maybe more present on this new record than on the previous ones.”

Reserved in nature, Gonzalez also sought to continue a trend that has become more prominent in his recent albums. “I wanted to be more present lyrically and vocally even if that was daunting at first,” he states. “I thought if I could achieve that, this album will be more personal than those that came before.”

Gonzalez’ body of work spans and blurs multiple genres and realms, from the synth-laden dream-pop found on Saturdays = Youth to the ambient soundscapes of Before The Dawn Heals Us. He has seen grandiose global success with the Grammy-nominated, platinum-selling Hurry Up, We’re Dreaming, that features “Midnight City.” In the film world, Gonzalez has soundtracked the silver screen for films like French director Gilles Marchand’s 2011 ‘Black Heaven’, ‘Oblivion,’ Tom Cruise’s sci-fi flick, his brother’s films ‘Knife & Heart’ (starring Vanessa Paradis **** The Guardian) and ‘You And The Night’, as well as soundtracking Cirque Du Soleil’s VOLTA.

track listing
Mute Records

1 . Water Deep
2 . Oceans Niagara
3 . Amnesia
4 . Us And The Rest
5 . Earth To Sea
6 . Radar, Far, Gone
7 . Deceiver
8 . Fantasy
9 . Laura
10 . Sunny Boy
11 . Kool Nuit
12 . Sunny Boy Part 2
13 . Dismemberment Bureau

Order “Mirror” by M83 HERE


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.