Lowly share new single “Seasons”

Lowly share new single “Seasons.” The track is off the Danish band's forthcoming album Keep Up The Good Work out February 17 via Bella Union
Lowly share new single “Seasons.” The track is off the Danish band's forthcoming album Keep Up The Good Work out February 17 via Bella Union

Lowly have shared new single, “Seasons,” a track off their forthcoming album Keep Up The Good Work, available February 17 via Bella Union. Commenting on the track, the Danish quintet say: “Seasons” originates from a poem about the sun dragging the seasons over its shoulders as if it were a normal day job, coincidentally influencing all life surrounding it. And as the song progresses and the chorus hits, it turns into an abstract storytelling from a human perspective about time and life’s drifting by. The production is overwhelming and adventurous, with a pulsating bass and active drums creating a spectral and rhythmic framework around the vocal. The song starts out minimalistic and simple but grows over time into more and more layers, giving the listener a feeling of being thrown in a rocket into space towards the sun.“

Sometimes the support we need doesn’t lie in complex answers. Sometimes it can be found in the most simple encouragement. This reflection is embodied throughout their third album, Keep Up The Good Work. This music has been forged within a maelstrom of lockdown restrictions and critical life events; often working together virtually, and eventually being together physically and writing and recording as a group.

“We know each other really well after 8 years as friends, colleagues and collective creators. We know what we’re each going through in life, and we can hear it in the music we make together; it’s always a personal reflection of us in the given moment. You can hear that we’ve become older, that we have more to tell. During the pandemic we experienced both the joys of having children and the sorrow of losing people we cared for. Life and death struck us, you could say, which maybe seems rather banal or cliché to be writing about. But for that reason, we think this record speaks universally, and has the potential of resonating with many people.”

Lowly have been once again recording in Aarhus with producer and engineer Anders Boll, who also produced their two previous albums Hifalutin (2019) and Heba (2017). Anders has almost become the sixth member of the band, navigating five strong-willed musicians towards a kaleidoscopic and uniquely interwoven sound. It was in the studio that the band dreamt up the idea to ask their followers on social media to become a part of the album:

“We asked people to send us recordings of what they would say to the people they cared for to give encouragement or support. Our DMs were flooded with positive affirmations and personal stories about what people tell their kids, friends and loved ones. Many of them are quite simple, but also effective thoughts to meditate upon, instead of focusing on something destructive you’d otherwise bang your head against” says singer Soffie Viemose.

Keep Up The Good Work
Track List
Bella Union

1. What A Day
2. Seasons
3. Keep Up The Good Work
4. Happen
5. Feel Someone
6. The Fish
7. Yagaily
8. You Are Good And I Love You
9. Lead Me
10. 1321
11. Nothing Much
12. Took A Day of Feeling Sad
13. The We The You and The I
14. Mouth

Pre-order Keep Up The Good Work by Lowly HERE


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.