“Loved” Unloved

"Loved" by Unloved is Northern Transmissions' 'Song of the Day.' The track is off the UK trio's forthcoming release 'Heartbroken,' out 2/1 via Heavenly
"Loved" by Unloved

Unloved, is vocalist and songwriter Jade Vincent, her partner producer/composer Keefus Ciancia and the DJ and producer/composer David Holmes, have shared their new track “Love”, the latest single from their forthcoming second album Heartbreak that will be released on Heavenly Recordings on February 1st.

David Holmes on “Love”

“Love was one of the first things we cut from the new record and was inspired by the raw, propulsive sound of 50’s Rock ‘n’ Roll and primitive electronics”

Jade adds: “and doesn’t everybody want love?”

A rich, deep album possessing a sound at once hauled out of the silty depths of the past and simultaneously wholly modern, the heart of the songs lie in Vincent’s sublime voice and lyrics, both possessed of an aching, rich-smoked tone. Very much about love, Heartbreak is more emotionally exposed, more musically, lyrically, and vocally audacious than it’s predecessor.

“There’s a maturity to Jade’s voice and a maturity to the songs that sounds like this is someone who’s lived, and properly had her heart broken, and is full of love,” says Holmes.

“I felt a little more confident in my stride with this album,” Vincent adds. “I let myself completely go lyrically — and vocally as well. I would sometimes laugh at myself, about where I would go. I’d go high into the world of opera and come back in low. I just threw myself into it and felt uninhibited. It was freeing. And I kept layering, to get to as many emotions as possible. It was like painting: I was layering to add to the immense, vastly wild landscape of music given me from Keefus and David.”

“They’re real feelings and real experiences that I had the guts to finally say, but always ambiguous, this is very important to me.” she explains, “and always about love, one way or another.”

The story of Unloved began in a late-night Hollywood bar in 2015, The Rotary Room, where Ciancia, known for his collaborations with T-Bone Burnett, including the soundtrack to ‘True Detective’ and his unprecedented project with Jeff Bridges, Sleeping Tapes, among others, and Vincent held a long-running music salon at which their fellow musicians could experiment and collaborate.

Inviting Holmes over to DJ at the club, the trio discovered a shared love for ’60s girl groups, French pop, film noir soundtracks, Brigitte Fontaine, Shuggie Otis, George ‘Shadow’ Morton, Bruno Nicolai, Lee Hazlewood and Jack Nitzsche, along with a tremendous desire to work together.

Holmes, has provided scores for Steven Soderbergh’s ‘Out of Sight’, ‘Ocean’s Eleven’, ‘Twelve’ and ‘Thirteen’, HBO series ‘Mosaic’, Steve McQueen’s ‘Hunger’, and BBC series ‘The Fall’ and ‘London Spy’, also ran his own club, God’s Waiting Room, in his native Belfast.

Like the Rotary Room for Ciancia and Vincent, God’s Waiting Room was a place for Holmes to explore music and film and to invite thrilling artists to play: Jane Weaver, Jarvis Cocker, and Andy Weatherall among others. It was inevitable the trio would end up collaborating, a union which very quickly blossomed and saw the recording and release of their stunning debut album Guilty Of Love in the spring of 2016

track listing

1. Heartbreak
2. Remember
3. Love
4. (SIGH)
5. Bill
6. Devil’s Angels
7. Lee
8. Danger
9. Fail We May, Sail We Must
10. Love Lost
11. Crash Boom Bang
12. Boy and Girl
13. If