“julia” by zzzahara

zzzahara has shares a new track today, “julia,” the track arrives alongside a video and is taken from the Los Angeles-based guitarist songwriter’s debut album, Liminal Spaces, available October 21 via Lex Records.

“”julia” is one of the first songs I ever wrote,” zzzahara says. “One of those where I knew I had nailed the chord progression. I was in highschool and the pressure was on because our school’s Battle of the Bands was taking place in a few weeks. This girl I sort of liked—I say sort of because she could never make up her mind about me—was performing at the Battle of the Bands show so I decided to get to writing! ‘Juliaaaa,’ I yelled with emotion while I was in my room, hitting the first chord. I remember that moment feeling like a big accomplishment. I knew I had made something catchy. When the day came and I went to perform the song on stage, she was there in the audience. I sang the first few lines and she ran out of the auditorium.”

The new track follows initial album offerings “bulletproof,” featuring Los Angeles-based musician and producer Mareux, “get out of la,” “lust,” “gurl” and “cupid’s out tonight,” Additionally, they have a host of tour dates this fall, including stops at Brooklyn’s Sultan Room, San Francisco’s Rickshaw Stop and LA’s The Echo and Lodge Room, the latter of which is the Liminal Spaces album release show.

Born to Filipino and Mexican parents and raised in Highland Park where they still reside, zzzahara is the moniker of queer songwriter and guitarist Zahara Jaime. Growing up in Los Angeles, they felt disconnected from Southern California’s predominantly straight white male rock scene and discovered making music as a way to process the experience of living in an ever-gentrifying city. They became the touring guitarist for Eyedress aka Idris Vicuña in 2018, which spawned the collaborative duo The Simps, who released their Siblings LP earlier this year. Following their solo debut EP Simp.Wave in 2021, zzzahara signed to Lex Records and put the finishing touches on their forthcoming debut album, a collection of songs about queerness, love, lust, absurdism and feeling lost that trace their evolution from childhood through present day.


1. g(url)
2. they don’t know
3. bulletproof featuring Mareux
4. get out of la
5. lust
6. cupid’s out tonight
7. possessive
8. julia
9. girl you know
10. coldish
11. it will get better

ZZZAHARA 2022 Tour Dates

October 11 Madame Lou’s Seattle, WA*
October 12 Doug Fir Lounge Portland, OR*
October 14 Popscene @ Rickshaw Stop San Francisco, CA*
October 15 Chain Reaction Anaheim, CA*
October 16 The Echo Los Angeles, CA*
November 13 Lodge Room Los Angeles, CA

* with Luna Li

Order Liminal Spaces by ZZZZAHARA HERE


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.