John Carroll Kirby Shares “Mystic Brine”

John Carroll Kirby has shared a video for “Mystic Brine." Cryptozoo, the Original Motion Picture Soundtrack, is out now digitally
John Carroll Kirby has shared a video for “Mystic Brine"

John Carroll Kirby’s film score debut, Cryptozoo: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack, is out now digitally, with vinyl to follow. Today, he has shared the animated video for “Mystic Brine.” Cryptozoo is an animated feature-film drama written and directed by Dash Shaw, and featuring the voices of Lake Bell, Zoe Kazan, Michael Cera and Louisa Krause. The film vividly imagines a world populated by mythical creatures known as cryptids.

The music video for “Mystic Brine”, also created by Dash Shaw, shows Kirby within the richly drawn, hallucinatory world of the film. Kirby says: “When I was composing the score to Cryptozoo, I imagined what it was like to be among the cryptids. Dash and the team brought that vision to life in this video where I get to make music for my magical new friends!”

Cryptozoo: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack marks John Carroll Kirby’s first time bringing his talents as a composer and producer to film scoring, and follows on from his studio albums for Stones Throw, My Garden and Conflict (2020) and Septet (2021). His score melds together sounds from New Age, exotica, library music, and the sweeter side of electronic music, and makes for a perfect match with Dash Shaw’s vibrant animated feature.

The Cryptozoo film won the NEXT Innovator Award at Sundance, and premiered internationally at the 2021 Berlinale. It will be released on August 20 in theaters and on demand.

John Carroll Kirby
Original Motion Picture Soundtrack
Track Listing

1) Luz Mala
2) Savage Cryptids
3) Gustav The Faun
4) Phoebe’s Theme
5) Tenderfoot Pegasus
6) Joan
7) Mystic Brine
8) The Tower
9) Cryptozoo End Credits Theme


Looking for something new to listen to?

Sign up to our all-new newsletter for top-notch reviews, news, videos and playlists.